We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Birthday weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8231 Amarillo Blvd West, Amarillo, TX 79124   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
1 review
“Fabulous Birthday weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I had my 30th birthday party this past weekend at the Holiday Inn West and I cannot say enough wonderful things about my event. The entire staff went above and beyond all expectations. My jaw dropped when i first walked into the banquet room. Cody took the ideas I had envisioned and then personally oversaw that every last detail was perfect. He even added some things that I hadn't thought of.
I had over 30 friends come to the party and they loved how fabulous everything looked and how delicious the food tasted. I felt like a princess as we danced the night away.
I highly recommend the HI West Medical Center as the site for your next party or event. They took great care in making sure that this new decade of my life started out with an amazing party.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Gigi_m14,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. We know how important a 30th birthday is and glad we could exceed your expectations on your special day. We know you have many places to choose from, thank you so much for making us your choice. Happy Birthday and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    67
    16
    10
    8
See reviews for
113
61
16
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were not disappointed in this hotel and will stay here again if in Amarillo. It was in a great location for us, near good restaurants and there is a huge movie theater complex just across the parking lot from the hotel. Although I did not get a chance to partake, there was a nice bar in the lobby and the hotel restaurant had a decent breakfast (although the pancakes were a little undercooked). Rooms exceptionally clean, staff was cheerful and helpful. Great decor in the lobby and in the rooms. Well done, Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Whistlersgirl,

Thank you for the feedback. We love the hotel decor as well, we feel it really sets up apart from the rest. We are considered to be in "restaurant row" of Amarillo with many great choices to choose from and having the theatre next door is a great treat for our guests. I am sorry to hear about your pancakes, that is not acceptable and I will make sure proper changes are made so it doesn't happen again. Thank you again and we hope to see you back at the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe Bay, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn last weekend and enjoyed every minute of my stay. From the complimentary breakfast to hanging out by the fire pit on the patio for after dinner drinks, everything was terrific The hotel restaurant (Flame, I think it's the name) had great service and great food. I recommend staying at this hotel and I will be back when I go to Amarillo again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
MikeStone1980


Thank you so much for your review. The patio area is the most unutilized area of the entire hotel, yet one of my favorites. The fire pit is a great feature, we just had a party a few weeks ago and we used it to make smores for the kids. It is great to hear you had a great stay and we hope to be your hotel of choice during you next business travel to Amarillo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the HI going to and coming from the Fiesta Bowl. I believe it is the best budget hotel that I have ever stayed at. The "resort" has an indoor pool with slide, a sauna, a jacuzzi, and a small work out room. It has a complementary serviced breakfast. It has a small bar where you can watch the game. It has a restaurant. It has a lighted/magnified vanity mirror. It gives you the choice of soft or firm pillows. It has a mini frig. It is across the parking lot from an IMAX theater. The elevator is key activated; providing security only found in more expensive hotels. It even has a waterfall in the lobby area. What more do you want for $90?

There are two minor disappointments. The hotel is hard to get to being on one side of a one way road. So when your GPS says "make a U turn", you actually want to go two turns further up the road before executing the U turn. Just keep your eyes open and you will see what you need to do. The other disappointment was the room heating/cooling unit had only one speed; high. Being a new hotel, it was not loud. But light sleepers might want to take note.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Kssylvester,


Thank you so much for the feedback!! It seems you were able to really take advantage of all of the features of the hotel. I am very jealous you went to the Fiesta Bowl, how exciting!! I am so glad we made a great impression on you during your trip. Those are some great pictures you posted. Thank you again and please come back and see us on your next trip through!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband & I stayed here Christmas Eve on our way to Arizona. Pleasantly surprised about everything. I was quoted a rate over the phone and they accepted it. I had the name of the employee who gave it tome. The room was the standard CLEAN King size bedroom. The work out room had standard equipment with lots of towels. All was working, clean and inviting. Even had a universal weight machine and a small area to stretch. Pool big enough for kids to splash around in. The restaurant served a great steak and went a step beyond when I asked for something other than fries. I got a decent sized salad. Very happy. I will have that again when we drive back home. And I only eat meat/steak a few times a year. The next morning we had a delicious hot buffet breakfast with fresh cut up fruit! The only reason for giving it 4 stars, was the workout room. If more than 4-5 people are in there, you would have to wait.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask any questions when booking a room. I like a quiet room away from other p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Chayrl,


Thank you so much for the great review. It seemed you were able to enjoy almost every area of our hotel. The kids sure do seem to love our pool. I am very disappointed to see we couldn't get for fifth star, I am sorry the fitness center didn't meet your expectations. I would like you to know for your next visit that our hotel does offer a free membership to our local gym "Zach's Club 54" when you are a guest of the hotel. I have a couple of bodybuilders that stay with us often, they use our gym for cardio, but go to Zach's for free weights. Thank you again and hope you choose us again the next time you are passing through!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We are from Austin and were visiting family over the holidays. We decided to stay here based on your previous reviews on Trip Advisor.We were impressed from the minute we walked in the door. We were warmly greeted by the staff at the front desk. They even had a goody bag waiting for us. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and tied in with the with the Western decor. We chose to enjoy a night at the hotel during our visit and we ate at the Flame restaurant. They had the best queso I think I've ever had and the sizzling fajitas were amazing. Our servers were friendly and attentive, this is great considering it was busy due to all of the holiday guests. Cody, the restaurant manager, came over to our table to check on us. After an intense conversation about football Cody brought us the richest dessert I've had in ages. My mouth still waters thinking about that Tres Leches cake. Breakfast was very busy and chaotic due to the volume, however the quality of the hot, fresh food surpassed my expectations of dry cereal or stale bagels that I'm accustomed to. We were hoping to enjoy the pool after checking it out, however due to time constraints we were unable to,however we definitely make time on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
WOW.. What a great review John R!! Thank you so much and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of our Flame restaurant and glad you did as well. The tres leches cake is amazing, by far our regular's favorite! Thanks again and we hope to be your hotel of choice next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we enjoyed one night in this hotel in December 2012 on our way back from New Orleans. While it is new and situated in something of a wasteland it is warm and friendly inside and the rooms are good. We are upgraded to a suite as priority club members. The hotel seemed well patronised and the rooms and amenities were fine. One caveat on our experience. Coming down to breakfast at about 7.30 we found no fruit at all and very little else. The coffee was very weak and bno one was present attending to the food supply. So our experience was marred by the awful breakfast - maybe get a new contractor for this ! With so many motels and hotels around this price point what distinguishes them is often the quality of the breakfast. We have always stayed in Hampton Inns where the food is excellent and well tended - so this was a disappoinment.

Room Tip: elevator is very slow but i think all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Denis B,

Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay. It is how we better ourselves for our future guests. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel, but very disappointed to hear about breakfast! We take a lot of pride in having a great value in our breakfast! Amarillo as a city went through staffing issues due to an outburst of people catching the flu. This is a matter that we of course took very seriously in the restaurant area. I am not trying to make excuses, but is something we unfortunately had to deal with at our guests costs. I am very sorry that standards weren't met, but assure you breakfast will be back to your standards on your next stay. Thank you and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center

Address: 8231 Amarillo Blvd West, Amarillo, TX 79124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#5 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amarillo's Newest Full Service Hotel that delivers Contemporary Western Decor and the Best in Texas Hospitality. Enjoy the Panhandle's only Hotel that offers an indoor Waterslide, Heated Pool, Hot Tub and Sauna. Every room offers a microwave and refrigerator with an IPOD docking station,37" Flat Panel Televisions with over 50 HD channels, Free WIFI, and offers Free Hot Breakfast to our guests. Flame Mexican Bistro and Bar offers a "Sports" theme with all of your favorite games with multiple TVs and Home Made Authentic Mexican Cuisine. Happy Hour is every day from 5pm-7pm. Please contact hotel direct for restaurant and waterslide hours. Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center is within minutes of most ALL Amarillo attractions and constructed right in the center of Restaurant Row. Enjoy a movie or shopping at The United Artist Movie Theater and Westgate Mall. Hotel offers free a free airport shuttle and transportation within a 2 mile radius. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Hotel Amarillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.