We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality & Good Food in Amarillo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltgrass Steak House

Saltgrass Steak House
8300 West Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-1500
(806) 351-0349
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 424 Restaurants in Amarillo
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hospitality & Good Food in Amarillo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We appreciated the greeting and honesty of the wait time to expect when we arrived. We were seated within the mentioned time frame and enjoyed excellent steaks and good wines to accompany our dinner. Our server was efficient and cordial throughout our meal

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    51
    19
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liberal, Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great steaks and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have always enjoyed their steaks. You will pay a higher price than at other steak houses. Their coconut shrimp comes with a great dipping sauce that's worth trying. Of course their beer bread and butter rivals Texas Roadhouse. Typically they are packed so make sure to get in before the rest of the crowd shows up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good service, no wait and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

i loved finding a parking spot immediately and close to entrance. the servers were great and the food was delicious, the only thing i would change is the price, it is a little expensive ,because i could get 2 meals at Texas Roadhouse for the price of one here, but i really enjoyed it , i had a sirloin and the cream cheese jalapeno stuffed shrimp wrapped with bacon and barbecue sauce, the salad with ranch was yummy and fresh,great home made bread with sweet butter,yummy sauteed mushrooms. it was very good food, my husband loved the sauteed onions because txrh never gets them cooked right.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
915 reviews 915 reviews
443 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Good Service & Decent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were a group of eight stopping for a relaxing Sunday lunch and we found it here. We arrived right at twelve but were seated almost immediately by a very efficient hostess. Our waiter Adam was also efficient and provided us with very good service. I had the days special 9oz Sirloin with Shrimp and mixed Veg $21.49. My spouse had the Blacken Redfish with a Lobster topping and green beans $23.99. Both meals were very good, my steak was cooked as I asked and we both said we would get this again. The others in our group ordered various other items from the lunch menu and all stated satisfaction with their meal. All meals were served at the exact same time by a group of 8 servers. Plenty of free parking available on site. Only problem we had was not the fault of the restaurant. A family seated near us had a young child who consistently screamed out (not crying but screaming). They made no effort to quiet the child, I do wish people would consider others in the restaurant before making loud noise, whether children or adults.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had a 9oz steak. Cooked exactly how I like it. My wife got the tacos. She said some of the best tacos she has ever had. About $40 for 2 of us, so a little pricier, but excellent food

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltgrass Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.