We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible steaks and friendly service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltgrass Steak House

Saltgrass Steak House
8300 West Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-1500
(806) 351-0349
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 442 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible steaks and friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We both had one of the best steaks of our lives here. Usually I do not like steaks from restaurants, because I prefer my own cooking. This is one exception. The wait staff we had was also excellent. If you are ever in the Amarillo area, and like top quality steak, you need to stop here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    83
    28
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Who knew a lunch size Chicken Fried Steak was so BIG?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

While staying at the Holiday Inn West Medical, a number of our group walked over to the Saltgrass for lunch.

Oh my! My lunch portion of their Chicken Fried Steak was almost the size of my plate, steak tender, batter, crispy and flavorful - along with a huge mound of the lightest french fried onions I've tasted in years!! Wish these restaurants were around where I live!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, ok
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Drove all the way from Oklahoma for a good steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently bought a class a motorhome and just wanted to go for a little weekend cruise and decided to drive to Amarillo so we could go back to Saltgrass Steakhouse for a 2nd visit. Food and service is fantastic. The food is so good we drove all the way from Stillwater, Ok. and spent over $400 in fuel. That should tell ya something. The bread they give you is as good as the steak. Makin' my mouth water just thinking about it. Hmmmmm

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great dinner after long day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Oh, how I wish I lived nearer one of these restaurants! At the end of a nine-hour drive, I stopped for a good steak in the panhandle of Texas. Saltgrass delivered, ten-fold.

Being a solo traveler, I know that some servers may be reluctant take a table-for-one, but my waiter was exceptional. I had the prime rib with sweet potato fries, and found myself in culinary heaven. Perfectly prepared, juicy, tender, and flavorful. I gladly took the remaining abundance on my plate in a to-go box so I could relive the savory goodness later.

The service was A+, and I rewarded accordingly (30%, I believe). Worth every penny.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Alabama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Service - Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Was there and it was crowded, but the service was excellent. Waitor made wonderful recommendations. Table of 5 and everyone enjoyed their meal. I was too full to try a big steak so ordered grilled shrimp - and it was the best I've ever tasted. Grilled, yet not over cooked, so can't say enough good about it. When back in Amarillo, will definately go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltgrass Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.