We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner after long day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltgrass Steak House

Saltgrass Steak House
8300 West Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-1500
(806) 351-0349
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 442 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Branson, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great dinner after long day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Oh, how I wish I lived nearer one of these restaurants! At the end of a nine-hour drive, I stopped for a good steak in the panhandle of Texas. Saltgrass delivered, ten-fold.

Being a solo traveler, I know that some servers may be reluctant take a table-for-one, but my waiter was exceptional. I had the prime rib with sweet potato fries, and found myself in culinary heaven. Perfectly prepared, juicy, tender, and flavorful. I gladly took the remaining abundance on my plate in a to-go box so I could relive the savory goodness later.

The service was A+, and I rewarded accordingly (30%, I believe). Worth every penny.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    83
    28
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook, Alabama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Service - Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Was there and it was crowded, but the service was excellent. Waitor made wonderful recommendations. Table of 5 and everyone enjoyed their meal. I was too full to try a big steak so ordered grilled shrimp - and it was the best I've ever tasted. Grilled, yet not over cooked, so can't say enough good about it. When back in Amarillo, will definately go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“You can NOT ask for better food or service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Absolutely amazing dining experience. Food was delicious and served promptly. Our server was very attentive and on key she knew exactly what to suggest! It's very rare to go for dinner and receive such tasteful food and friendly service! Will be sure and visit again in the future!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good steaks. as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

we were going to stop at another restaurant until we saw the Saltgrass. We got the early bird special, shrimp and sirloin steak. Their fried shrimp is as good as any we have had at any Landry's. The price was great for a salad and the meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talihina
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great steak and shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Tues night and the place was packed but yet our table was served our appetizer / salad and entree in a timley manner.
The food was cooked as ordered and delicious. Saltgrass is very comparable in quality from location to location.
The range rattler appetizer is well worth getting if you like spicy or mildly hot food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltgrass Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.