We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard by Marriot stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   724 South Polk Street, Amarillo, TX 79101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Amarillo
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Courtyard by Marriot stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

we stayed here as it seemed to be a nice location & not too far from where we were going ( Palo Duro Canyon). The room was clean, the bed & pillows were very comfortable. My only :complaint" was the free parking... was FULL, we ended up having to park outside... there seemed to be several nightclubs with a various assortment of people... would of preferred to have our vehicle in the lot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
We appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Palo Duro Canyon is one of many sites to visit in Amarillo, we hope you enjoyed your visit to our State Park. We do offer complimentary garage parking, as well as open lot parking, I apologize you were unable to find parking during your stay. Please let us know if you experience this again and we will assist you in locating parking inside the garage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    53
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
34
50
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I'm really glad we had the opportunity to stay at the Courtyard Marriott Downtown last time we were in Amarillo. Our room was very classy and clean. We had a king room with a terrific view of the downtown. It was especially nice looking out the window at night at the lights and the Paramount movie sign. The staff was all very courteous, and parking was very easy. Very fun to feel like you're staying in a building with some history.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and make your time away from home as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this Courtyard. Hotel offers free parking and a nice cafe where you can get breakfast or dinner and is located a a really unique historic building. My only caution would be there isn't much going on downtown Amarillo in the evenings and staying closer to I40 offers many more restaurants to choose from. I would stay here again if I was working downtown.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
We appreciate you taking time to share your comments. Thank you for staying with us and enjoying the benefits of downtown and our beautiful historic hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Not thrilled - I noticed a stain under the sheets. When I pulled the bed sheet off, there was a large stain on the mattress pad along with a few stray hairs. Disgusting. Housekeeping was very nice and apologetic.

Other than that, when we first arrived, we got to the room to find that the door keys did not work. That was immediately fixed. The window curtains need to remain closed because parking spaces for the upper level parking face right into the room.

See photos. It seems that we got unlucky with our experience here, because I see a lot of positive reviews. You'll probably have a nice stay, but we won't be back.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the parking lot. Check to make sure sheets are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Please accept our sincere apology for the condition of the bed linen. This was immediately brought to our Executive Housekeepers attention and corrected immediately.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel is beautiful. We loved the decor. The have very plush pillows and bedding. This hotel is perfect for the business professional but not so much for families. No pool and the only food is Starbucks. Otherwise it was nice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, as you mentioned we do have Starbucks located in The Bistro and available 24 hours days. The Bistro, our in house resturant is open for breakfast and dinner daily, I apologize you didn't get to sample and enjoy the menu during your stay. We hope you will have the chance to visit The Bistro during your next stay. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

As a travel agent, I have booked small groups at this hotel. From all the feedback from clients and my personal experience in working with the hotel staff and closely with the group during their stay, I can assure you that if you are in Amarillo on business or pleasure this is a premier hotel with a big city feel in a small town. Upscale, in a historic building, this hotel is beautifully appointed. Starbucks in the lobby offers a convenient and refreshing breakfast. The lobby is gracious and welcoming. Great parking, close to good restaurants and wine bar, this downtown area is convenient to anywhere you need to be or see! The rooms are spacious and delightful. It's as if you have your own private suite! Good spaces for business meetings or just meeting friends. No matter what kind of traveler you are, couples, family, or solo, you will be pleasantly surprised to find such great service at great rates in this darling of a hotel in downtown Amarillo Texas!

Room Tip: The corner room with large windows overlooking the city center street is a favorite. However, with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you !!!! We are thrilled you had a wonderful time in Amarillo and experienced Downtown Amarillo. We have a beautiful building full of history and memories. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice hotel in a historic building in downtown Amarillo. Nice little historical displays around the lobby showing some of the hotel's past. Great beds, nice big rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Starbucks in nice lobby for coffee and hot breakfast. Steps away from Ohms and Crush Wine Bar. Both places worth a visit if in town. Few mile drive to a Route 66 area, 5 miles to Big Texan Steakhouse, 20 miles to Palo Duro Canyon.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We got a high floor for a better view although downtown Amarillo doesn't really have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylGH, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed the Historic features and our downtown location. Our building was originally built in 1928 and is the centerpiece of Polk Street, thank you for taking time to view our displays and enjoy a few of the local restuarants. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown

Address: 724 South Polk Street, Amarillo, TX 79101
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Amarillo Downtown is where History Meets Modern Courtyard! The historic Fisk Building, built in 1927, was fully renovated and opened as the Courtyard Amarillo Downtown on December 31, 2010. Located in the heart of Downtown Amarillo and featuring 107 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, the Courtyard Amarillo Downtown showcases the new Courtyard Refreshing Business Design with the Bistro Restaurant proudly serving Starbucks Coffee. Visit us and allow us the opportunity to show you Amarillo Hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown Hotel Amarillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.