We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   724 South Polk Street, Amarillo, TX 79101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Dallas, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love This Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Fantastic historic hotel in a convenient downtown location. Rooms were large and the Bistro in the lobby was a good gathering spot for our group. I will definitely stay here again - best hotel I have ever stayed in of the many Amarillo hotels over the years!

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    61
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
40
57
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I've stayed in Amarillo a few times before and plan on doing it again in the future, so am always up for trying a new place. I've stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn more recenlty, so I tended to compare the Courtyard to that.

The Downtown Courtyard Marriott was right in the center of town and close to nightlife. It was very clean, and new and the rooms are very contemporarily-styled. I requested a room on the higher floors and got a pretty good view. The lobby looks great, and the staff was professional and helpful. I didn't find too much of an issue with the parking as it was close and covered, though it wasn't necessarily convenient. I would have to get out my room card, reach way out sometimes to swipe it and then wait for the arm to come up to let me in to the garage. Also, there isn't an elevator in the garage which means if you have to park on a higher level on busier nights you could have a short walk with your bags.

I agree with the previous reviewer who mentioned that the A/C was somewhat noisy. Since I like the room cold it came on multiple times through the night waking me up a few times. I fixed this the next night by getting the room cold well before going to bed, then turned it up so that it wouldn't come on until much later. The bathroom was relatively small as well.

For just $15 more than other nicer places I've stayed in Amarillo I might consider staying here again, though for the more common $25 more than the other places it wouldn't be worth it to me. Parking is often more convenient elsewhere and the rooms are just as nice.

Pros: Your friends will be impressed with your room, walking distance to nightlife, great view, professional and well-kept up atmosphere.

Cons: Slightly awkward parking situation, for some price may not be worth it, A/C noise issues, slightly smaller than expected bathroom for a more pricey room.

All in all a good stay though.

Room Tip: Reserving a higher room gets you better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The downtown Courtyard is clearly a notch above the value hotels/motels out on the highway. We had (and paid extra for) a corner room that was quite spacious with a sofa, coffee table, and lounge chair as well as a king bed. The room was very clean and tastefully furnished in a modern style and included a refrigerator, flat screen TV, coffee maker, etc. The bathroom and closet were both a little small--a single traveler probably wouldn't mind, but a couple staying for more than one night would find both less than ideal. The bed was nice but my wife found it too hard. The air conditioning functioned very well, but was a little noisy. The cafe on the ground floor served some nice breakfast choices as well as Starbuck's coffee. The parking is free, but as others have noted it involves using an adjacent parking garage and climbing down/up stairs to the hotel. Compared to the other options in Amarillo, the Courtyard is definitely a winner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived at the Courtyard Amarillo Downtown later than we expected as the result of sitting on I-40 east of Albuquerque for almost two hours while an accident was being cleaned up. Because of this, it was almost dark when we arrived. The parking was odd since after checking in, you drive through an alley and go around the block to get to the hotel's parking garage. After that, though, everything was great. The room was one of the largest we have stayed in and beautifully furnished with comfortable beds, designer furniture, luxurious bathroom, and a peaceful, quiet feel. The cafe on the first floor was fast and friendly in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011 via mobile

Really a good hotel. Anytime in the area I will come back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

A wonderful older building has been renovated trendily, tastefully, comfortably. It's historic on the outside, hip on the inside. The decor is a combination of mid-century modern and contemporary HGTV. We loved that the lobby had interesting coffee table books on hand, some dealing with Amarillo's intriguing history. The cafe wasn't open when we were there, so I can't comment on that, but we did appreciate being able to purchase a bottle of beer right there. We were upgraded to a spacious corner suite overlooking Polk Street, and we enjoyed the urban scenery, watching the eclectic crowd drawn to the apparently popular Acapulco Mexican Restaurant right across the street. [We decided to skip that option and took the easy stroll to Ohms Cafe (a more upscale establishment, currently highly rated in TripAdvisor).] Seeing a number of nightclubs nearby along Polk did give us pause: would we be kept awake by competing disco serenades? As it turned out, THAT wasn't the problem; we drifted off to sleep unaware as Saturday night fever pulsed outside. However, at around two o'clock in the morning, we were awakened by a fundamentalist preacher hollering through a bullhorn, berating hell-bound club patrons on their way home for the night, ordering them to find a savior and repent. To us, this was local color, but if you are a dedicated sinner or have to get up early the next day, you might need to pray really hard for the preacher to quiet down. He did, eventually. So our tip would be to request a room in the back. That said, we really enjoyed our one night here, and if for some weird reason we're ever back in Amarillo, we'd stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: If you're worried about potential night noise from traffic, etc., request a room on 8th Ave. or
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The rooms are spacious and comfortable inside one of Amarillo's historic skyscrapers. You're in the heart of the city, with restaurants, theatre, bars, clubs, sports, shopping and a civic center all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the northside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown

Address: 724 South Polk Street, Amarillo, TX 79101
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Amarillo Downtown is where History Meets Modern Courtyard! The historic Fisk Building, built in 1927, was fully renovated and opened as the Courtyard Amarillo Downtown on December 31, 2010. Located in the heart of Downtown Amarillo and featuring 107 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, the Courtyard Amarillo Downtown showcases the new Courtyard Refreshing Business Design with the Bistro Restaurant proudly serving Starbucks Coffee. Visit us and allow us the opportunity to show you Amarillo Hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown Hotel Amarillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.