We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Great prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoffbrau Steaks

Hoffbrau Steaks
7203-G IH-40 West, Ste G, Amarillo, TX 79106
+1 806-358-6595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 408 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was Voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. We are a family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere. We serve USDA aged Choice Beef and a wide-ranging menu of chicken, quail, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's around the restaurant are perfect for watching sports. Come sample a brew of our extensive list of local, national and international beers as well as our full service bar. We are happy to cater weddings, birthdays and office parties. Whether you are looking to feed a quiet 15 or a rowdy 50, we love to throw a celebration and we're great at it! Our unique Amarillo restaurant has not one, but two private dining areas, and we're experts at comfortable Texas casual! Group menus can be designed for your needs and budget. Book your next event with us. As you come to visit Amarillo or ride through our town, remember that Amarillo is home to the famous American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame and Museum and the Amarillo Sox (baseball). The beautiful Palo Duro Canyon State Park is 2 step away. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service.What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... A tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978.Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... The great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks,The Fogiel Family
SW USA
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good food, Great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We each had the Cobb salads which were big and full of stuff, including a big piece of chicken (10.50 per salad). Great beer on tap too. Very busy place, staff works hard and fast.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
We appreciate your very nice review. Hurry back. Rainey Fogiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    77
    23
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We were traveling through Amarillo and had the opportunity to dine at Hoffbrau Steaks. From the in house made salad dressings to the smoked sirloin everything was savory and delicious. We would recommend after a long day on the road.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Melt-in-your-mouth Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We ordered the GR8 8 oz steak ($20) along with mashed potatoes, sweet potato, and some peach cobbler. The sweet potato was the best I've had anywhere! It was very mild in taste (I'm not a big fan of sweet potato) and was fresh and a pretty color to it. The mashed potatoes were REAL and had a very good flavor to them, excellent taste. Our hostess was very friendly and helpful with answering our questions. Our first time to Hoffbrau.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Bobby,
We are glad you found our best little steak house in Amarillo and that you loved our GR8 Steak, mashed and sweet potatoes. They are my favorite sides as well. Hurry back and safe travels. Rainey Fogiel, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Steak & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I was picked up by a co-worker who arrived on an earlier flight, he told me he had made dinner plans already; you know the place with the 72ounce shoe leather steak. I told him that was a tourist trap, and the wait is long, and the steak is mediocre at best. I told him to keep driving, and I would guide him to the best steak he has ever eaten.

When we arrived we sat at the newly renovated bar, and we were promptly greeted by Nicky who quickly prepared our drinks, since we were quite dehydrated from our long journey. We decided to share the Sweetwater Shrimp, and we both decided on a Ribeye steak, I chose the Sal's Ribeye, and my guest chose the bone-in Ribeye, both were cooked to perfection, and needed little more than a fork to cut the steak.

My traveling companion commented after dinner, and I quote "That was the best steak I have ever had"

My co-worker and I spend over 44 weeks out of the year traveling, we've encountered the good, the bad, and the ugly, but tonight we discovered AWESOME.

Do yourself a favor, skip the cowboy and come to the Hoff!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Pete,
We thank you so much for taking the time to write such a GREAT review. We are thrilled that you chose to come see us instead of that "other" steak house and that you loved our Steaks so much. I will pass this on to our Team Amarillo.
Hurry back and safe travels to you and your friend.
We do have a location in the Dallas West End as well, as that might be closer to home for you.
Rainey Fogiel, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is our new favorite steakhouse. Try the squash puppies, steak skillet for two and the chicken fried steak ( hand battered split it huge portion)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Kenneth,
We are thrilled to be your new favorite steakhouse and look forward to serving you many more Steaks 'n Smiles.
Best wished, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffbrau Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Hoffbrau Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoffbrau Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.