We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoffbrau Steaks

Hoffbrau Steaks
7203 W. Interstate 40, Ste G, Amarillo, TX 79106
+1 806-358-6595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 436 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was Voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. We are a family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere. Hoffbrau Steaks serves aged USDA choice beef and a wide-ranging menu of chicken, quail, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's are perfect for watching sports. Come sample a brew from our extensive list of local, national and international beers. We love to do caterings for weddings, birthdays and office parties. We have 2 large party rooms for any of your celebrations. Book your next event with us. Happy Hour is from 3pm to 6pm Monday thorough Friday. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service.What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... A tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978. Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... The great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks, The Fogiel Family
1 review
“yummm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Definitely a colorful experience here in Amarillo Texas. The Hofbrau was very fun! three broken dishes. From the holler at. Stakes pretty good macaroni and cheese is excellent for the kids. we split a steak dinner two steaks two sides two salads. dish for lovers big thing. peach cobbler awesome sugar and the crust and yummy crunchy sugar and the crust I had a couple draft beers digital. rahr $2 rolling rocks. That was awesome. Then, this red white and blue margarita concoction called the loan star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    71
    23
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have never eaten at a Hoffbrau outside of the Dallas/Ft. Worth area. Used to be one of our favorite places for steak. This location was outstanding--we didn't have to wait but a few minutes for a table on a Saturday night, the food was excellent and the service was very good. Would go here again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just average. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family of 5 (kids 10, 8, & 7) went on a Saturday night. Had a half hour wait at 7:30. Wait in lobby if you can, we sat in foyer, and then went in lobby to sit down because a lot of people came in after us and were seated right away. As soon as we moved into the lobby, we were seated. Who knows. Rolls didn't come until after our salads, but were warm and super good. I ordered the 16oz ribeye ($25) It was cooked good, but had too much pepper on it. Hubby had smokehouse sirloin and it had too much pepper and fat on it. Oldest ordered adult chix fried steak and she liked it. Youngers ordered off kids meal menu and enjoyed the push pop at the end. Overall it was just average and over seasoned and steak was WAY over priced. Would not go to this chain again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
WE are sorry that you did not enjoy your steak. We do season them with cracked white and black pepper and kosher salt. The kitchen may have over seasoned yours and we do apologize. We are glad that the kids enjoyed their meal. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mundelein
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great affordable steakhouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Fun little place, cool outside, atmosphere. Loved the fried okra app, good steaks, great Mac and cheese, sausage. They do a sweet dr. Pepper BBQ sauce. We all enjoyed our food. Friendly staff. Only $40 for four of us, but we split some items, huge portions.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We usually love to go here! Today ruined it for us. We waited nearly 40 minutes for our waitress to come and tell us our food is "almost ready." Twenty minutes later, she comes out and tells us the printer paper was being changed at the time our order was printed so it was never made and the cooks were starting on it now. She did comp a free app and dessert, but the initial lie was what did it for us. She gave us a standard line about the food and never actually checked on it to begin with. When we got our food about 20 minutes later, we ended up just asking for to go boxes and our ticket as we were wanting to get home at this time. It took our waitress about 10 more minutes just to bring us those as well. If you want to spend an hour and a half waiting for a burger and fries, this is your place. If you have a life you want to get to, this isn't.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are so sorry that our server did not take good care of you. A Manager should have been notified. We appreciate you letting us know. Best, Rainey Fogiel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffbrau Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Hoffbrau Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoffbrau Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.