We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoffbrau Steaks

Hoffbrau Steaks
7203-G IH-40 West, Ste G, Amarillo, TX 79106
+1 806-358-6595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 417 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was Voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. We are a family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere. We serve USDA aged Choice Beef and a wide-ranging menu of chicken, quail, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's around the restaurant are perfect for watching sports. Come sample a brew of our extensive list of local, national and international beers as well as our full service bar. We are happy to cater weddings, birthdays and office parties. Whether you are looking to feed a quiet 15 or a rowdy 50, we love to throw a celebration and we're great at it! Our unique Amarillo restaurant has not one, but two private dining areas, and we're experts at comfortable Texas casual! Group menus can be designed for your needs and budget. Book your next event with us. As you come to visit Amarillo or ride through our town, remember that Amarillo is home to the famous American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame and Museum and the Amarillo Sox (baseball). The beautiful Palo Duro Canyon State Park is 2 step away. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service.What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... A tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978.Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... The great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks,The Fogiel Family
1 review
“yummm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Definitely a colorful experience here in Amarillo Texas. The Hofbrau was very fun! three broken dishes. From the holler at. Stakes pretty good macaroni and cheese is excellent for the kids. we split a steak dinner two steaks two sides two salads. dish for lovers big thing. peach cobbler awesome sugar and the crust and yummy crunchy sugar and the crust I had a couple draft beers digital. rahr $2 rolling rocks. That was awesome. Then, this red white and blue margarita concoction called the loan star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    100
    31
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have never eaten at a Hoffbrau outside of the Dallas/Ft. Worth area. Used to be one of our favorite places for steak. This location was outstanding--we didn't have to wait but a few minutes for a table on a Saturday night, the food was excellent and the service was very good. Would go here again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just average. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family of 5 (kids 10, 8, & 7) went on a Saturday night. Had a half hour wait at 7:30. Wait in lobby if you can, we sat in foyer, and then went in lobby to sit down because a lot of people came in after us and were seated right away. As soon as we moved into the lobby, we were seated. Who knows. Rolls didn't come until after our salads, but were warm and super good. I ordered the 16oz ribeye ($25) It was cooked good, but had too much pepper on it. Hubby had smokehouse sirloin and it had too much pepper and fat on it. Oldest ordered adult chix fried steak and she liked it. Youngers ordered off kids meal menu and enjoyed the push pop at the end. Overall it was just average and over seasoned and steak was WAY over priced. Would not go to this chain again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
WE are sorry that you did not enjoy your steak. We do season them with cracked white and black pepper and kosher salt. The kitchen may have over seasoned yours and we do apologize. We are glad that the kids enjoyed their meal. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mundelein
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great affordable steakhouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Fun little place, cool outside, atmosphere. Loved the fried okra app, good steaks, great Mac and cheese, sausage. They do a sweet dr. Pepper BBQ sauce. We all enjoyed our food. Friendly staff. Only $40 for four of us, but we split some items, huge portions.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We usually love to go here! Today ruined it for us. We waited nearly 40 minutes for our waitress to come and tell us our food is "almost ready." Twenty minutes later, she comes out and tells us the printer paper was being changed at the time our order was printed so it was never made and the cooks were starting on it now. She did comp a free app and dessert, but the initial lie was what did it for us. She gave us a standard line about the food and never actually checked on it to begin with. When we got our food about 20 minutes later, we ended up just asking for to go boxes and our ticket as we were wanting to get home at this time. It took our waitress about 10 more minutes just to bring us those as well. If you want to spend an hour and a half waiting for a burger and fries, this is your place. If you have a life you want to get to, this isn't.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are so sorry that our server did not take good care of you. A Manager should have been notified. We appreciate you letting us know. Best, Rainey Fogiel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffbrau Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Hoffbrau Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoffbrau Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.