We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6915 I-40 West, Amarillo, TX 79106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Worth, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here overnight on our way home from Colorado. The hotel property is very well kept and our room was quite comfortable for a short stay. We got a great rate on-line. Parking is somewhat limited. There is an Outback Steakhouse within walking distance that we ate at and enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We have that as you travel through Amarillo we can become your hotel of choice. Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. Safe Travels until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    120
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
128
132
44
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Pleasantly surprised... family of four had a good stay (2 nights). Room was clean and well appointed. Beds were very comfy. The breakfast buffet was welled stocked and free. Well located next to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend some of your travel time with us. We are so glad that it was a positive experience for you. We hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindale, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I were on our way home from Santa Fe, NM, but we wanted to see the TEXAS play at Palo Duro Canyon, so we stayed the night at the Sleep Inn. After driving for several hours, this hotel was just what we needed. The room was modern and clean, with a really good AC. The staff was friendly and helpful, answering questions and providing directions to the canyon. The breakfast was the usual hotel fair, but it was just what we needed to start the day. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We hope that during your travels you will find the chance to stay at another great Sleep Inn hotel. If you ever find yourself in Amarillo again we would love to have the chance to serve you again. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I relied on TripAdvisor reviews before choosing this hotel and was happy I did. This is also the second time we have stayed at a Sleep Inn and once again we were pleased with our decision to stay here.

The building itself appears new and modern. The employee at the front desk was welcoming and friendly and we were treated to bottled water once we checked in. The lobby itself was very clean and inviting.

Our room was very clean and we liked the simple yet fresh décor. Our room had a large bathroom, a small closet with an iron and ironing board, a small microwave and mini-fridge, and a one-cup coffee maker complete with Wolfgang Puck coffee. Bonus! There was also a long desk and a flat-screen television. All appliances were easy to operate and worked well.

One feature we liked was how the beds were higher off the ground than normal. The beds were comfortable and the height made them feel even more plush.

Similarly, the shower head was placed up high and the ceilings seemed high and lofty. There were plenty of clean, fresh towels, and shampoo, conditioner, and lotion were provided. Good water pressure, too.

When I saw that our room was situated across from the elevator, I was initially concerned that perhaps we would hear noise from the elevator or people walking to and from it. I was wrong. Our room was very quiet and we never heard anything or anyone. There are also handy buttons that allow you to notify the staff if you do not want to be disturbed or if your room is ready to be cleaned. It was a nice change from the usual placards you usually have to hang on a doorknob.

The breakfast buffet was very nice with a good selection of hot and cold foods and we enjoyed the waffle maker shaped like the state of Texas. A friendly fellow patron even helped me make the waffle. I normally do not make waffles but could not resist when I saw the neat shape, and he was kind enough to turn the waffle maker after I poured the batter. There were a handful of tables but the nearby banquet room was open which allowed for more seating. It filled up quickly!

Similar to the other Sleep Inn where we stayed, this place is very clean and comfortable but very compact. Our room had many great features but the overall size of the room was on the smaller side. For example, if we wanted to use the desk and placed the chair in front of the desk, there would be little to no room to walk around the chair from one side of the room to the other. The one-cup coffee maker was placed on the top shelf above the microwave and mini-fridge but the cord would not reach the outlet so it had to be moved or relocated to the bathroom in order to be plugged in. It is not a complaint, just something to note if one is looking for a large room. Spacious it is not, but it is modern, spotless, and very comfy.

It bears noting that we stayed here during a holiday weekend, and during our breakfast an employee noted that one item was still cooking but would be placed out as soon as possible. The regular coffee at the buffet also ran dry rather quickly. We later noticed a sign at the front desk indicating there were no vacancies, so I think perhaps it was just a busy holiday weekend and that explained the minor issues with the breakfast buffet. The employee was kind to notify everyone and she was doing her best to do many things at once.

This is located next door to an Outback Steakhouse and close to Pizza Hut so it is nice to have the option of walking to a restaurant if you are road weary. It is right off Interstate 40 and easy to enter and exit.

Overall, we had a great experience and would stay here again. It has the feel of a higher-end hotel but is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
It is always a pleasure to read and respond to our hotel guest reviews. I am so happy that you had a great time at the Sleep Inn and Suites. There is nothing my team likes more than to read good reviews about us. Each and every one good or bad is important to us. We hope that we have the chance to see you again. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were extremely pleased with our stay at this motel. Very clean and very welcoming. The bed was comfortable, and everything in the room was in apple pie order. The breakfast room is large, and there were many choices. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I am a big fan of Apple Pie as well and I am glad that we held up to the Apple Pie way of measuring. We want all our guests to leave us after a great and positive experience. I am so glad we were able to do that for you. We hope to have the chance to serve you again soon. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay! The hotel is neat and clean, bedding was so comfy and the A/C worked great! Our room also had a fridge and microwave. Trevor, the manager, was extremely personable and professional. This hotel is located between a Pizza Hut sports bar and Outback Steakhouse. It was so nice to walk next door for dinner instead of having to drive somewhere. Breakfast was great and the breakfast area was spotless. When passing through Amarillo we will definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Sleep Inn and Suites. We want all out guests to come away with nothing but a positive experience. I am so glad that we were able to deliver on that. I hope that as you travel we will have the chance to serve you again. Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Quiet, clean, comfortable and pleasant staff. Breakfast was good. Pool was small, but sufficient.
Vending machines need to take dollar bills or credit cards. We had a great night! Our second experience with sleep inn & suites, this place is just as awesome as the one in Shreveport.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was great! On the north side, but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for being a loyal Sleep Inn traveler. I am so glad that we were able to make a great impression along with our sister property in Shreveport as well. We hope to have the chance to serve you again soon. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 6915 I-40 West, Amarillo, TX 79106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#7 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn and Suites is located on the south side of Interstate 40. We have an indoor heated pool, hot tub and a free hot breakfast. Our Sleep Inn and Suites is located within walking distance of many restaurants which include Hoffbrau Steakhouse, Outback Steakhouse, Pizza Hut Wingstreet, China Star Oriential Buffet and CiCi's Pizza. The Sleep Inn and Suites is a 2012 Choice Gold award winner which places us in the top 10% of Sleep Inns. We hope that you will love our Sleep Inn and Suites as much as we do!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Amarillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.