We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Nothing Extra for Hilton Honors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9000 Interstate 40 West, Amarillo, TX 79124   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Nothing Extra for Hilton Honors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very nice hotel especially the public areas (lobby, dining room). It was very clean and the staff was friendly enough. We had an exceptionally good meal (better than many HGI's) and the Happy Hour was good - Lindsay was an outstanding server. The room was clean but had that odor from spray many of the hotels have these days. I mentioned it to the front desk and was told it was Fabreze which most people like??? I was very disappointed in the particular king room we were assigned and attribute it to the fact that we used hilton honors points for the stay. The room was small with shower only. The bathroom configuration was odd in that the bathroom door was in the way of the shower which seemed dangerous to us.

Room Tip: Stay in a double room rather than a small king
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    84
    38
    15
    13
See reviews for
92
59
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I'm Military and I travelled through Amarillo, TX, enroute to my next duty station. I was assigned an ADA room that didn't have a tub. I was looking forward to a bath after the long trip. Reference the cleanliness - the bathroom was filthy and it was obvious cleaning was not priority. You can visually tell where the a filthy mop is used to partially clean the portion of the bathroom floors that are convenient (and quick) for housekeeping to get in and out. I hauled all my Military belongings to the room from my parking spot and it was almost midnight, so, I didn't have the time or energy to make a complaint then change rooms in order to have a CLEAN bathroom and a tub since I'm NOT HANDICAP. Advise you to check the room before hauling your belongings into a Hilton Garden Inn. On my way out, I had to ask for the regular coffee dispenser to get refilled and I had grinds in my coffee. The staff isn't incompetent; the staffing and supervising of staff is poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I had not traveled through Amarillo for a while. This is a pretty modern hotel. It has a nice indoor pool, decent work out equipment and a small bar for drinks and food. It's located close to several restaurants. Parking is a little limited. Our room was clean and quiet. Our room didn't have a blow dryer but the front desk sent one up. We didn't stay for breakfast. Overall a good stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Hilton hotels are my favorite, always a comfortable bed, good breakfast, and friendly staff. Most comfortable rooms around. This location is no exception. Right on the freeway and close to restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My mom, sister and I stayed here as an overnight stop on our cross-country road trip in June 2014. We stayed two nights and the first night was a nice experience (except for the uncomfortable bed and cold or very hot shower). My sister and I woke up after the first night and went down and had a very nice breakfast. We ate and got some coffee to go and went back up to the room to prepare for our day in Amarillo. Everything went downhill from there. Upon arriving back at the hotel room we saw a tiny sign informing us that our beds were adjustable (and we were hopeful because the beds were hard and uncomfortable). Unfortunately the beds did not get more comfortable, it seemed worse. I guess we had just slept alright the first night because we were exhausted from having spent 12 hours in the car. When we woke up on the second morning we went downstairs for breakfast and our mother joined us. After we got our plates we were informed that it was $9.95 per person. My sister and I were shocked, because we had been uninformed of that the previous day, and were never given a bill or any inclination that there would be a fee. There was a sign in the elevator that said "made to order" breakfast was $9.95, but we assumed that meant for freshly cooked items. The man that had been cleaning the tables (with the big hickey on his neck) told us how he was upset with how many people ran out on their bills. I told him that was probably because it was not clear that breakfast was a charged price-there is no roped off area or separation to lead you to believe there would be a charge, nor sign upon approaching to give you those details. Instead, there is a sign on the wall where we did not look because we were looking at the food options. Never would I voluntarily pay $9.95 for a half-scoop of bland potatoes and some thin slices of melon. To top things off, we were charged $30 more per night than we were quoted. I would have rather stayed at the Country Inn and Suites up the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJ S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
I'm so sorry for your poor experience this week at our hotel. Please be assured I will be discussing your comments with our management team to work on immediate improvements. We take pride in providing the best in lodging and service so our lapses during your stay are being taken very seriously. Again, on behalf of the staff and management - I offer our apologies.

Sincerely,
T.J. Sarkaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this location going to my destination. The toilet in our room would not stop running! It was "fixed" but ran all night. We were on our way back home and stayed again thinking we couldn't have any other problems, right? Well we went to our room to find the toilet clogged! Took an hour for maintenance to "not fix" the problem. We called the front desk to be told no others rooms were available and you need to call Homewood Suites ourselves. We were checking at the front desk.....one staff person on the phone with a guest and another filling the fridge.....important stuff! We ended up waiting 10 minutes with no apology. When I mentioned no apology or anything the front desk staff replied with "ma'am you didn't let me finish". Really? Shouldn't that have been first after wasting an hour of my life!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJ S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We want our guests to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and appreciate your feedback about the A/C noise disruptions. We're working with our facilities team to make the necessary repairs and apologize for any discomfort you had. We hope you'll consider giving us another chance to serve you.

Kind regards,
T.J. Sarkaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

A good visit a bit pricey compared to other locations. Comfortable, Well equipped exercise and pool. Limited bar and restaurant. Helpful staff. Lovelly lobby area. Coffee availaable all the time. Rooms are nice but pretty standard. Bath products were very good quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJ S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your feedback.

We here at the Hilton Garden Inn® Amarillo, intend to exceed all your expectations.

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Family of hotels, specially the Hilton Garden Inn® brand. We intend on making sure that our guests get the most comfortable & pleasurable experience during their stay.

If there is any concern or for that matter anything that comes to your attention, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours Sincerely
T.J. Sarkaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo

Address: 9000 Interstate 40 West, Amarillo, TX 79124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.