We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfest was not good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6701 Hollywood Rd., Amarillo, TX 79119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Lamar, Colorado
1 review
“Breakfest was not good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Eggs were cold ,No decafe coffee,no coffee pots were even marked for decafe,the girl at the front desk was very nice,very helpfull did a great job. The tub didn't drain good the first night at all, the tv channels were very snowey.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
First, let me thank you for your response, it is only through feedback that we are able to improve. I am the owner of the new management company contracted to run this hotel, you may be happy to hear that we have totally revamped our breakfast, this was a definite issue and we are making it our top priority. We have just completed the Holiday Inn Express "Express Start" breakfast certification and are confident we can meet your future needs. We do regret that we were unable to succeed for you on this trip, but please don't let it stop you from returning, contact me on your next trip and I will extend a complimentary nights stay so we can prove how seriously we take your concerns! Sincerely, James Bennett, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
23
19
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

If you're passing through Amarillo, stay somewhere else. This is the worst experience I've ever had at a Holiday Inn Express.

I stayed here for one night while I was traveling between Oklahoma and Colorado. I booked the room for $89 online, but when I got my bill, they charged me $119. I showed the guy at the front dest my confirmation email, but he refused to credit me for the $30 difference.

The rooms were clean and spacious, but that's the only plus about the hotel. The shower faucet was difficult to use, and I had to call the front desk to find out how to operate it. My room was also located near the elevator and the door wasn't sound-proof, so I heard a lot of noise while I was trying to fall asleep. They also put me in a spot where when I looked out my window, all I could see was the back of the entrance corridor.

The hotel has easy access to I-27, but there isn't a lot of other commercial development in the area other than a couple of other hotels and a pair of gas stations. You'll have to drive 10-15 minutes to find a place to eat.

I've come to expect good things from the Holiday Inn Express chain, but this hotel was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
I am so sorry I did not reposnd sooner, some how I thought I had! In any event, I am glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel but that we failed you on the rate issue. I will say to PLEASE CALL ME, 806-352-1900, and I can fix this for you! Unfortunately we cannot identify your file from the information here or I already would have done so. It is never our intent for you to have a less than fantastic stay, please let us fix this!

James Bennett, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I stayed here for business, and was happy that it was south of the I40 corridor. The room was spacious and well equipped, but there were some problems. Amarillo is a windy place, The screen on my 3rd story room rattled all night. The energy saver lights made for a dim experience, which the older I get, bothers me more and more. The pool was also closed. The fan in the bathroom was set into a poorly cut opening. It just seemed unfinished and rough. The first floor door at the end of the hall was broken and unsecured during the three days of my stay. Parking was difficult also.

The property has potential, but they need to get better lighting and pay more attention to deatials.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Booked a room for one night. Check in easy. Room was clean, but when we walked in we noticed the loud wind around the window even we were on the side away from the wind. We tried and tried to get it to be quiet, but could not and there were no blinds to prevent the breeze from coming in. Street noise was VERY loud even though we were on the 3rd floor. Breakfast ok. If I had a choice, I would stay somewhere else as the room was not worth what we paid for it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at this hotel one night to attend our daughter's graduation in Canyon, a neighboring town. The 2 motels in Canyon had doubled their rates for graduation weekend so we had looked further afield.This hotel is fairly new. The mattresses and pillows were wonderful. Great water pressure in shower. My only complaint concerning the rooms refers to the lighting in the bathroom - it was frankly lousy for doing make-up.The front desk folks were warm and freindly. The free breakfast was substantial though unimaginitve. For our purposes, the location was perfect since we were only about 10 minutes from our daughter's house in Canyon. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

On check-in, we were upgraded to a suite. Nice, with plenty of granite in the bath. Had a small kitchen area with frig and microwave. Room had a sitting area with sofa and small table. Large plasma TV. Modern decor.

The hotel is very new. Nothing to complain about. Bed and linen were super. wifi was top bar. Would stay here again in a heart beat. 7 minutes from I=40 but worth it. Setting the standard for HIE.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South

Address: 6701 Hollywood Rd., Amarillo, TX 79119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new in 2008, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Amarillo South is 100% non-smoking and offers modern conveniences with upscale amenities. Our guests will experience daily hot breakfast, luxurious new bedding, updated bath collection, wireless and wired high-speed Internet, a business center, as well as an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and a fitness area. We are located next to a movie theater and offer quick access to Palo Duro Canyon State Park, I-40, I-27, as well as a variety of restaurants and shopping venues. Area attractions include Cadillac Ranch, American Quarter Horse Museum, West Texas A & M, Panhandle Plains Museum, Amarillo Botanical Gardens, Don Harrington Discovery Center & Space Theater, Wonderland Amusement Park, Splash Water Park, Amarillo Museum of Art, Amarillo National Center, Amarillo Performing Arts, and Historic Route 66. We are confident that you will enjoy our famous Texas hospitality, and that your stay in Amarillo will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.