We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to ourselves” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Interstate 40W, Amarillo, TX 79106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Frostproof, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The place to ourselves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Got here early but they still had a room ready for us. Thank God. Exhausted after a 7 hr drive. Had a little refreshment in our room and then went and soaked in the pool and hot tub. Ahhhhhh!
Nice room. Clean. Well furnished. Comfy bed. Room to move around in.
Also did a load of laundry there. We've been on the road for 2 months circumventing the USA (you've probably figured that out by reading my reviews) This was our 3rd load of wash. Very convient to have it in the hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    42
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
46
38
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland, MI
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
29 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed at the Amarillo Fairfield for one Saturday night in June. The room was in a totally different decor than other Fairfields we have occupied. The room was beautifully decorated, extremely clean and had very comfortable beds. Quite a few people were staying that particular night, but it was not noisy and quite quiet.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

We have been staying at Fairfield Inns for years. It seems lately some are not keeping up with the competition when it comes to comfort and style. This particular Fairfield Inn is well used but undergoing renovation. We understand the limitations that may place on a hotel. But our room had apparently been renovated but still had issues. There were stains on the ceiling and overspray from patching them on the wall below. They had tried to protect the paint on the wall, but the overspray was bigger than the protection. The bathtub drain was plugged and running slow, and the bathroom fan was so noisy it was unusable. I reported these items to the front desk when we checked out. The biggest issue for us, though, was that after driving for 8 hours, there was only one chair (a desk chair) in the room, and no comfortable chairs. The TV was old, not flat screen. There was one desk, and the dresser the TV was on, one end table between the beds, and one desk. That was it.

The food for breakfast was more limited than other Fairfield's we stayed in this trip, and was under renovation. We were notified at checkinthat the workers would come at 9 a.m. and be there all day, which was okay with us, because we were on our way before then. Under the circumstances, the dining area was very clean and usable.

I would hesitate to recommend this hotel for the level of comfort we want but on the other hand, the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

This hotel was great for the price paid. It is under renovation, so the lobby area and hallways were not yet updated. The room was newly updated and very clean. We enjoyed the nice queen sized beds and comfortable bedding. The location was very easy to get to and we felt very safe with the area. The staff was very polite and friendly. If you are looking for a fancy 5 star hotel then this wouldn't be for you, however, if you need a safe, clean, and reasonably priced hotel with nice rooms then I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Amarillo on the nights of 9/9/08 and 9/23/08. The hotel is very new and was a pleasant place to stay. The staff was very professional and polite.

Amenities: Standard hotel room with above average furnishing and décor. Outstanding indoor pool and hot tub (we enjoyed both greatly). There is a computer in the lobby for checking email and internet. Continental breakfast included toast, bagels, muffins, donuts, hard boiled eggs, make-your-own waffles, cereal, microwave sausage and egg bisquits, fresh fruit, coffee, juice, milk and tea.

What we liked: Spotlessly clean. The room was very comfortable, the pool was quite nice, and the breakfast was enjoyable.

What we didn’t like: The hotel is located on the access road of the main east/west highway through town (as are apparently most other hotels in Amarillo). The problem is that the highway is busy with large trucks at all hours of the day and night, and some of the traffic noise can be heard in the hotel’s rooms. We are light sleepers and therefore the traffic noise bothered us. We would have slept better if the hotel had installed more sound insulation.

Would we stay there again? Yes, unless we could find a comparably nice hotel at a better price and in a location that was both off the highway and still convenient.

  • Liked — Comfort, indoor pool and breakfast
  • Disliked — Highway noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

The hotel is very basic. The bed was comfortable, and the desk staff courteous. Breakfast was forgettable. Free internet access was a plus. Room temperature was somewhat difficult to control. Noise level was low.

  • Liked — Simple, efficient place to stay for business.
  • Disliked — Bad television reception in room.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

Not up to par with other Fairfield Inns. Many competitive motels along this I-40 strip. Small room, noisy heater, gaps between door & doorframe, old chipped bathtub. Room clean, beds good, good breakfast and an excellent front desk clerk named Debbie.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center

Address: 6600 Interstate 40W, Amarillo, TX 79106
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Fairfield Inn & Suites is found in Amarillo, the Heart of Texas. Minutes away from Bell Helicopter, Harrington Regional Medical Center, Pantex, The Big Texan and Westgate Mall. Our hotel enables you to have more time to relax at the indoor pool and spa or sleep-in on our new pillow-top mattresses! We will get you started each day with complimentary, delicious breakfasts. Come see Texas hospitality at our Fairfield Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Amarillo
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Amarillo
Fairfield Amarillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.