We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facilities...but MSNBC?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Interstate 40W, Amarillo, TX 79106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice facilities...but MSNBC?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I'm a Marriott Gold Rewards member. I stay at a Marriott whenever it is feasible possible. So, staying at the Fairfield Inn Marriott in Amarillo Texas was a given since I was passing thru the area. To see MSNBC on in the lobby was shocking. I'm used to CNN. I prefer Fox News. I'm used to CNN. To see this channel on made me recoil and not want to return. I'm sure the Fairfield Inn at the Airport wouldn't have made such a poor news choice for breakfast viewing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
37
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
philly
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was driving my daughters stuff from LA to Philly and Amarillo was my second stop.
I am a Marriott Rewards member and look for,those properties first. I got a great AAA rate and based on the TA reviews I chose this property. It is just off I40 and since I was driving a box truck that was great. It is true that the property is a little 'worn' but everything worked perfectly and I was comfortable. I did get a room next to the elevator and usually would swap,that out (I am an end of the hall kind of guy). That night I decided to o with the flow and didn't even hear the elevator. I skipped breakfast because it was a Saturday and the small eating area was packed.
If (God forbid) I ever need to go to Amarillo again I would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Alzsailor,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo and for being a loyal Marriott guest. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable and quiet rooms. Hopefully, if you are ever back in Amarillo you will have a chance to try our complimentary breakfast. Please allow us another opportunity to host you.

Sincerely,
Carol L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here with 3 adults and five children under 8 in two rooms. The rooms were large and clean. The hotel was relatively quiet, considering it was fully booked with traveling families the night we stayed there. This is a Fairfield, so a small lobby and breakfast area should be expected. I was impressed with the way the staff handled such a large number of guests with breakfast items, keeping the serving dishes stocked and the room picked up.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Yes, across the parking lot the Residence Inn is a little nicer etc but this hotel is perfectly fine for a road trip stopover. It did bother me that the walls of the lobby and elevator were scratched up and in need of a paint job, but the actual room was very nice, very quiet and cool with a comfortable bed and good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Marilyn E,
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our quiet rooms, comfortable beds and complimentary breakfast. Please allow us the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Amarillo.

Sincerely,
Carol L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was more than pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It is by far the most updated Fairfield I've seen, with good sized rooms, and friendly staff. We even enjoyed the pool area. Small but perfect for three kids tired of riding in the car! Having a Buffalo Wild Wings in the parking lot was a huge bonus for this Mom who was tired of driving and in need of an adult beverage!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pampa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Quite, clean and great service. We had a really nice stay. Front desk was very polite and professional. Maids cleaned thoroughly everyday. Great location. Highly recommend this hotel for your next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Fairfield is far enough west along Interstate 40 in Amarillo to be in a good neighborhood. We were in town for Homer's Backyard Ball. The event and the Fairfield are both located right along the highway.

We came in all dirty from the music festival fairly late and the front desk staff was on the spot to give us additional towels, soap and shampoo with a smile. They were also able to direct us to a spot popular with the locals for great Texas chicken-fried steak.

I really enjoyed our clean room and the complimentary hot breakfast with Texas-shaped waffles from the make-your-own iron.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center

Address: 6600 Interstate 40W, Amarillo, TX 79106
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Fairfield Inn & Suites is found in Amarillo, the Heart of Texas. Minutes away from Bell Helicopter, Harrington Regional Medical Center, Pantex, The Big Texan and Westgate Mall. Our hotel enables you to have more time to relax at the indoor pool and spa or sleep-in on our new pillow-top mattresses! We will get you started each day with complimentary, delicious breakfasts. Come see Texas hospitality at our Fairfield Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Amarillo
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Amarillo
Fairfield Amarillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.