We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, Great breakfast, Friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Interstate 40W, Amarillo, TX 79106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Owen, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Very comfortable, Great breakfast, Friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very good value. This is a very comfortable hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. Queen beds were very comfortable, and we slept well. If there was any noise from the outside, it was minimized by the fan on low speed. Also kept the room air fresh. We thought the breakfast was better than others we've stayed at in this price range. We will stay again when we return in the spring, and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Didn't use room service, but confident it would be good. No eating spots within walking distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarilloFFS_GM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us on your trip in Amarillo. I am so happy to hear that you found your stay with us to be comfortable. Please come and stay with us the next time you are in our area.

Regards,
Carol L., GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    38
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
43
37
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel was nice Fairfield property. It was clean inside and out of the rooms. The beds were good, not great, but good enough to get a good night's rest. The price made the room a good value. There was nothing special about the hotel but then again there wasn't much of an opportunity. I was able to quickly check-in, went out for the night, came back and good a good night's rest.

One small minor issue was my room was ground level at the end of the hallway next to the stairwell and exit door so it was a little noisy in the morning. But considering the proximity of the room to the stairs and exit, it wasn't as loud as I would have guessed. I would imagine that I could have switched to another room if I asked. Nice staff when I checked in.

Location was close to the highway, shopping, and a few restaurants. There was not any highway noise but I was also at the opposite end of the hotel also.

Room Tip: Just stay away from the room ground level next to the stairwell and exit door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarilloFFS_GM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that the majority of your stay with us was enjoyable. I am sorry that you did not find our beds to your liking. We recently received all new mattresses and box springs, but we do understand that different guests prefer different firmnesses in their mattresses for a good night sleep.

We hope that you will keep us in mind the next time you travel through Amarillo!

Carol L, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The desk clerk was friendly and helpful. She did refer us to a chain restaurant instead of a local restaurant but we didn't specify we were looking for a local restaurant, so I'm pretty sure she just gave us the safe choice.

Our room was cleaned and well-maintained. Like all the beds in the Marriott group of hotels, the beds were soft and the sheets were crisp and clean. My husband complains that the pillows are too soft. If you really like firm pillows, you may want to bring your own.

The included breakfast was fine. We got to eat quickly and get back on the road. We will definitely stay here, again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarilloFFS_GM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would like to stay again with us. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel through Amarillo!

Regards,
Carol L, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice, clean, and conveniently located Marriott brand hotel that is great for business travel in West Texas and the panhandle area. I stay here at least once a month and the staff is very friendly and courteous.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I thought for the cost of my room it was worth it, I did book in advance on line which helped. The room clean , bed was comfortable , the staff was friendly . I needed to get to the hospital in the morning and it was about a 5 minute drive . It is located off 140 making it easy to find .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed one night in September '13. This is an older building with the cottage cheese ceilings, dim lighting etc, but has had some upgrading. My room rate was $115 per nt. which I believe is a bit high. The room was average size with a nice TV and small work area, and was clean. The bathroom was fine except for a small area of light mold. Given the heat and humidity in Texas in September, I chose not to make a big deal of it. The free breakfast was good, about the same as most other hotel free breakfasts. I had a Marriott gift card that I wanted to use as partial payment,(probably had something to do with choosing this hotel) and had to work with two different front desk folks to get that accomplished. All in all an average stay. Probably could have done better dollar-wise if I'd shopped around.

Room Tip: I-40 is very close, so the further away the better. The hotel does offer white noise machines if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Dan H,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Please accept my apology that we did not exceed your expectations. I'm sorry that you found mold in the bathroom and I will have my housekeeping staff address this right away. I'm also sorry that you felt the rate you paid was high. We are constantly monitoring our rates and work hard to stay competitive with the hotels in our area. I hope that the next time you are in Amarillo you will give us another opportunity to impress you.

Sincerely,
Carol L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This may well be unfair but although I have spent the night in Amarillo a number of times it has always been just that, a night. I have found that while heading east via interstate 40 Amarillo is my goal driving from either Arizona or Nevada. Heading west I try and make it to Tucumcari, New Mexico. Anyway I think the Fairfield west is one of the better choices in town. Although on the north side of 40 it is not really an issue as both the exit and entrance have those wonderful no stop u-turn lanes that make for easy on and off. Anyway the hotel has been recently updated and I find it not only a nicer hotel but also a better value than the Residence Inn which is right next door. Good size room comfortable bed quick, efficient and friendly front desk staff. What more can you ask for. The HVAC works smoothly without with what I find annoy clunk when it kicks in. Breakfast is your typical fare the staff keeps the food warm and available and the areas clean so no complaints there. So if you are looking for a good night’s sleep at a reasonable price just for I-40 than you should consider this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center

Address: 6600 Interstate 40W, Amarillo, TX 79106
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Fairfield Inn & Suites is found in Amarillo, the Heart of Texas. Minutes away from Bell Helicopter, Harrington Regional Medical Center, Pantex, The Big Texan and Westgate Mall. Our hotel enables you to have more time to relax at the indoor pool and spa or sleep-in on our new pillow-top mattresses! We will get you started each day with complimentary, delicious breakfasts. Come see Texas hospitality at our Fairfield Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Amarillo
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Amarillo
Fairfield Amarillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West / Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.