We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, service, easy on/off of I40. Hot breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Comfort Suites
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amarillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Comfort Suites
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2103 S. Lakeview Dr., Amarillo, TX 79106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Dallas/Ft. Worth TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value, service, easy on/off of I40. Hot breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Stayed here on drive from CA to Dallas, received internet rate, very reasonable rate. Friendly front desk (owner?), well stocked free breakfast. Make your own waffles or eat the eggs and sausage. They weren't Cracker Barrel, but was hot and seemed fresh. Also available, cereal, toast, bagels, danish, biscuits and gravy, coffee, orange juice, apple juice, all free. Used to be a Comfort Suites so all rooms are suites but at Super 8 prices. Parked loaded up van in front, no issues or shady characters hanging about. Nice indoor pool. Room was decent, bed comfortable, seemed clean, shower was good, plenty of towels and space in the room. After driving for 13 hours, this was a decent, comfortable, friendly, safe place to recharge. With well stocked and free breakfast, $62 rate for 2, friendly staff, we'll stay here again next time through. You can obviously find a better, higher end hotel, but for travelers on the road, it was perfect. Also, stayed in non smoking room, and it actually smelled like a non smoking room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Half the hotel said Super 8, half said comfort suites. A/C vents in hallways covered with plastic, so the common areas were sweltering hot, unable to get keycards to work, so we had to get the night manager (or her son who stayed there the whole time) to let us into our room every time. Breakfast was disgusting, and there is no elevator, so don't get an upstairs "suite" if you have heavy luggage.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling BBQ Tour
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Not the best part of town, when we pulled off the highway, we were glad that a couple of nice restaurants were within walking distance, that is until the manager told us that they all recently closed or moved. Hotel is outdated and suite was cramped. Not all fixtures worked. Front desk did suggest eating at "Big Texan" as they offer free limo service - just don't get a steak - had to send back twice...
On our way back through town, we stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites just East of here and were totally impressed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

I was so impressed with the service I received last time, I just had to post this review at a couple of travel sites.

As a general rule, I am a pretty picky when it comes to hotels. I prefer comfortable rooms at reasonable prices. The first thing I want is a quiet room and then a clean bed. My wife get's "annoyed" if she thinks the sheets weren't changed. And if moma ain't happy....

We've often stayed at this hotel during our travels and found the accomodations to be comfortable and the room a bargain for the price. The General Manager "PK" has always been friendly and willing to help in anyway he can. During our last trip he went above and beyond what is normally expected.

During breakfast it seems my son decided to wrap his retainer in a napkin while he ate. You know what's coming. After we finished we threw everything away and went upstairs to our room whereupon he discovered his retainer was missing. We came back downstairs fully expecting the manager "PK" to tell us there was nothing he could do. Instead, he went through all the trash accumulated during breakfast and examined every peice. We were down to the bottom of the last bag and were about to give up hope when he opened a napkin and found the retainer. We couldn't believe someone would essentially dumpster dive for a guest. PK and his staff have always been helpful, but this was beyond anything we could hope to expect.

What a great place to stay! Needless to say we'll be staying there everytime we go through Amarillo. Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

We were traveling to the Grand Canyon from NJ. Because we relied on AAA and their photos, we thought this looked okay. As soon as we pulled of the exit, we knew it was bad. Should have looked into one of the nicer, newer places on the highway before this exit. The room had several fixture issues (no light cover on the light above the shower, someone's food in the refrigerator) and an odd smell. Before we got into bed, we turned down the air conditioner, only to find the floor around it soaked. The desk person told us that the night before some guests left a window open during a rain storm. Did you want to clean up then? I think it was the air conditioner not draining properly. He wanted to know if we could still spend the night in that room. We got a new room after I explained that my son had asthma. No offer of a room without a soaked carpet just out of courtesy? My in-laws stayed in the next room and had some of the same issues. During of two week trip with many different hotel stays, this was the only clunker!

  • Liked — The man at the front desk recommended a great local market for dinner.
  • Disliked — If you knew the room was soaked, or had some idea, why not clean it up? Customer service-ever hear of that?
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Room was large with the anteroom having a couch, chair, mini-fridge, microwave and sink; bedroom was in a separate area although the bed took up most of the space; decor of the room was dated --- mauve and green tones, popcorn ceilings, wallpaper borders along the top of the walls all indicate an 80's vintage; furniture was clean and in good repair although well used; mattress was typical hotel fare --- somewhat soft but ok; room looked to be very clean.

The breakfast was very limited --- dry cereal, some rolls, muffins and bagels, small waffle iron and small tins of scrambled eggs and biscuits and gravy which ran out very easily --- the attendant did not seem to be in any hurry to replenish the eggs --- no sausage or meat of any kind; a group of 5 people would easily clean out what was offered; if you're looking for a bagel/roll on the way out the door, this would be adequate, otherwise go to dennys or ihop for a real breakfast; guess the reason i'm so hard on this is that i've stayed at other "suite" hotels that offered much more than this.

Our first night we ate at (and walked to) a mexican restaurant, Fernando's, which had excellent food and is only one block away from the hotel; the other night we ate at Red Lobster which is literally across the street.

Again, the room and common areas of the hotel looked to be very clean; i would stay again as long as the price range continues to be in the $70-$80 range, otherwise i would probably look into alternatives.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

I made a reservation at the wrong Comfort Inn and as a result stayed here. The room is large. Fairly clean. It has uncomfortable furniture (sofa, bed, pillows). It's near the freeway so there's a bit of traffic noise.

Pool looks okay. Breakfast is unremarkable.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 2103 S. Lakeview Dr., Amarillo, TX 79106
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Amarillo
Amarillo Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.