We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bring the pets and enjoy the comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Amarillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Amarillo to your Saves list
Residence Inn Amarillo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 Interstate 40 West, Amarillo, TX 79106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“bring the pets and enjoy the comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Decided to try this location since we pass through Amarillo several times a year on our way to Colorado. We brought our dogs this time and found there aren't alot of hotels in Amarillo that are pet friendly. My Diamond status with Hilton does me no go since they don't have any pet freindly hotels around. The rooms are smaller than a Homewood but bigger than the Residence in Loveland (Queen beds vs Full beds). Lots of folks traveling through as well we found out a breakfast. Quiet rooms and clean bathrooms. We'll be back to this location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    34
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
38
19
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed here for a quick little weekend trip with my family of 5. The afternoon check-in was busy but very quick. Everyone enjoyed our room (we stayed in a two bedroom suite) and especially enjoyed the fireplace. We made good use of the indoor pool and I was happy to see the staff restock the pool towels several times during our many pool trips. The breakfast was well stocked and we were very happy to have our Texas shaped waffles complete with fruit topping and whipped cream.

My only discomfort was the bed and found rest eluded me during this stay. My one quibble in another otherwise great stay. My family and I are big fans of Residence Inns and this stay reinforces that!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The facility looked new, and provided a very enjoyable stay. The services was warm and friendly, the beds were very comfortable, and the property is conveniently located near I-40. They had a manager's reception that evening, and provided a free breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014



When walking to our room there was a foul odor in the hall.  I hoped it wasn't a sign of the cleanliness of the hotel.

The size of the room was perfect.  I wish I could say the same about the cleanliness.   There was thick dust on the air vents in the bedroom,  dirty baseboards (especially in bathrooms), and lipstick left on a glass in the kitchen cabinet.  

The basketballs were flat, without any air pumps.

We felt that they were not prepared for morning guests at the breakfast buffet.  We were waiting on food, refill waffle mix, and syrup. The cranberry juice was not working. Our family enjoyed both the mini & Texas shaped waffles (endless toppings available), parfait yogurts, boiled eggs, and scrambled eggs. It was nice having hot coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available any time during our stay (not just during breakfast).

The gas fireplace in the room was nice.  We did enjoy the indoor pool and exercise room, as well. 

The staff were friendly.  

Housekeeping really needs to be re-trained! 

Convenient location, right off the highway.
Nice to know you have the option of bringing our dog.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Txlineman,
Thank you for reviewing the Residence Inn Amarillo. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your in room fireplace and our complimentary breakfast. Please accept my apologies for the cleanliness of your room. What you described is unacceptable, and I will be following up with my housekeeping staff to ensure any deficiencies are corrected. I do hope that you will offer us another opportunity to host you so that we can show you what our hotel is truly capable of.

Sincerely,
Lorrie R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed for a night on a road trip recently. The hotel was nice, currently furnished and extremely clean/ well kept. The complimentary water, coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lobby were perfect while checking in. The pool and hot tub are clean and warm. They are indoors with the small, but nice exercise room. Note, the pool is under 4 feet deep all over. The room was was great and included: a spacious couch (that folds out into a full size bed), desk, flat screen tv, kitchenette (full size fridge/freezer, two burner stove, microwave, sink, dishwasher, pots, plates, silverware, etc), seperate room with closing door (contained king bed & flat screen tv), bathroom and vanity with spacious closet, drawers, etc. The beds, pillows and linens were great. Only negative was the lack of blankets. We called for additional ones bc the beds were not very warm ( we are hot natured, so this is saying something). They did not have any additional blankets and our room wouldn't warm above 64 degrees all night. It was a cold night in Amarillo, too. That said, I would still stay here again in a heartbeat. The breakfast was nice as well. Plenty of choices, healthy and hearty. The Texas shaped waffles were a nice touch. Offerings were eggs (scrambled or boiled), sausage, bicquits, gravy, potatoes, toast, bagels, waffles (lots or great toppings), oatmeal, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, milks and juices.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrenceville,ga
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
202 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

From check in to check out this trip was a pleasure! The front desk staff was efficient and attentive. My room was clean and comfortable. They had just replaced the mattresses and so sleep was a dream. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Close to most anything you might need. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have never started a review by complimenting the housekeeping staff, but I have never stayed in a cleaner, better maintained room. Carolyn seemed like she was always there to assist with extra towels or anything else.

I was fortunate to stay in a two-room suite and it was just gorgeous. I never expected to have a fireplace in my room for the very reasonable rate. I was able to entertain friends I hadn't seen in a while in my room with plenty of room and atmosphere.

I also LOVED the spacious vanity with all the storage. I was able to unpack for me weekend stay and have everything where I needed it and still have room to move and get ready. That is so nice (and unexpected) in a hotel room.

The location was perfect also. Located on I40 on the west end of Amarillo, we were close to the mall, the best restaurants and getting back to the hotel was always very convenient. Although I didn't need it, the hotel is also located very close to the Medical Center too and with the comfort and size of the rooms would be a perfect place to stay if coming to Amarillo for that purpose.

The breakfast was yummy with an abundance of healthy options in addition to regular offerings.

Thank you Lorri (your name was on the very nice letter welcoming me to my stay) and crew for a wonderful stay! I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Amarillo

Address: 6700 Interstate 40 West, Amarillo, TX 79106
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amarillo Residence Inn is just minutes away from "Historic Route 66.” At Residence Inn, we combine function and comfort to make the perfect stay in Amarillo. Our oversized suites provide fully equipped kitchens with separate living, sleeping and dining areas. We welcome our guests with all the comforts of home while traveling on business or relaxing with the family. Experience unmatched quality and customer service found only at Amarillo Residence Inn by Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.