We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great until breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
2101 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Wayne, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great until breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice...the gentleman at the front desk was amazing and very helpful...the stay was comfortable and safe...i couldn't wait for the free hot breakfast...i would have to wait and wait though. The breakfast staff failed to account for the sold out hotel guest count and ran out of everything...took 25 min just for eggs to get done...very disappointed. But if u do not care about the breakfast then its a perfect hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    28
    12
    12
    10
See reviews for
38
18
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ElPaso
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was very optimistic going here and even more so when I saw my room next to the executive suites. What I found out was they shoved me into the executive broom closet. This room was awful. Stains on the bed, stains on the floor, tv from 1985 that made a squealing sound, air conditioner barely blew cold air and sounded like a harley davidson and a bathroom so small you had to get into the tub to shut the door. The bed was hard as a rock and full of springs poking me all night which wasn't that bad since I barely slept. The breakfast area was full of construction workers each sitting at their own table so I can't say what breakfast was because I didn't go in due to a lack of seating. Needless to say next time I'll stay somewhere else...anywhere else.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

On first look it appears to have been renovated fairly recently. Breakfast bar is long and narrow and becomes quite congested - poor planning on someone's part. Food was good, but they need a new toaster - one side doesn't work.
During the night the air conditioning is turned off by management and it became very hot and stuffy. In the morning it took a very long time for hot water to start. In fact, my shower was only tepid. My spouse who showered after me said water temp was fine. I feel it's another cost cutting ploy as was cutting off the air conditioning. Shower curtain was installed too high and it barely stayed inside the tub. There is a card offering to sell you various items in the room like towels ($20 each? Kinda high priced for the quality), bed spread, alarm, etc. basically it came across to me as a threat - if you are thinking of taking anything you can expect to receive a bill.
The sound proofing quality is terrible. People above us decided to pack up and take showers at 2:30 am. This went on until 4:00. I realize the motel has no control over something like this, but if there was proper sound insulation it would not have been so disturbing.
The building was another brand motel before Comfort Inn took it over. I am quickly becoming disillusioned with the Comfort Inn brand. They are slipping in quality, not what they used to be. I cannot recommend staying at this particular motel. Very tired this morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was a very nice hotel. Very clean, very comfortable & the staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't get in till late in the evening but everyone was very friendly & willing to help. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was our second stay at this Comfort Inn. The hotel was not as clean as I would have wished. The front desk, while very nice, gave one of our rooms to someone else as well as us. We didn't feel safe after they walked in. The front desk did apologize but was very confused about the room situation. We booked 3 suites and were given only one. I will not use this Comfort Inn again.

Room Tip: Call ahead to be sure you get a suite if you reserved one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is my second stay on this Comfort Inn and it is one of the nicest motels at a good price. The rooms are large, the beds very comfortable, the air condition works great, and the room and premises are very clean. Very nice furniture and large flat screen television. The motel is conveniently located on I-40 near several restaurants and shopping. Cracker Barrel is within walking distance and we made a trip to the Big Texan Steak Ranch a few miles down on 1-40. My wife is picky and she said this motel was excellent in all aspects.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is in a pretty seedy area, but the hotel itself is nice. Our queen suite was modern and comfortable and the price was good. Hotel was clean and all that I saw was in good condition. Staff was nice and helpful. Only negative is the area it is in, but once you are inside the hotel you don't feel that. I commend this staff for maintaining quality in a less-than-quality area. That is unusual to find. When we drove up, I expected to find a mess inside but this hotel gave us a good surprise!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo

Address: 2101 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
94 Units, Indoor Pool and Hot Tub, Whirlpool Suites, Free Full Hot Breakfast, Wi-Fi, Fitness Room, Business Center, Meeting Room, Guest Laundry, Elevators, In room Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Micro-Fridge, Ceiling Fan, Sleeper Sofa, 27 inch TV's with Expanded Cable, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarillo Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.