We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST motel ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maverick Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Maverick Inn to your Saves list
The Maverick Inn
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1200 E. Holland Ave., Alpine, TX 79830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Alpine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Comfort,TX
1 review
“The BEST motel ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I have never stayed at a motel when traveling-always at upscale cabins. We found the Maverick online at the last minute to check out Alpine. WOW! This is even better than any cabin we have ever rented! The staff was super great-even gave us an upgrade with no charge! And really great about our dogs! (we have 2 Blue Heelers and a Kelpie). We will be going back frequently for business now, and the ONLY place we will stay is at the Maverick! Oh, and the rooms are very comfy-beds are great if you have bad backs, like we do, and we loved the trailer that's being fixed up for guests-it's a thing of beauty! A must stay!

Room Tip: Any room is great-but there is a train that comes thru at 3am and 7am. But, there are earplugs in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Kristina,

Thank you very much, you've put us in an unexplored category with the "Best Ever", thank you so much. I look forward to your return visits and gettin' to know y'all better. Thanks again, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    56
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
96
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had such a great experience in Alpine and the hospitality and service at The Maverick Inn was definitely a huge contributing factor to this. The room, although smallish, was super comfortable and clean. I'm more concerned with feeling like I'm not in a "typical" hotel room. I want character and to feel like I'm traveling to wherever it is I'm traveling. The morning breakfasts and coffee were above and beyond as well. I would have to say that most importantly Mark and Debbie were AWESOME!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Gosh, you complimented us on so many things I don't know where to begin on my "thank yous"! One thing I do know: The hotel has character, but I don't know if it has more than the characters that work here:-) Thanks Again...Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Yes, it's all true what you read. The Maverick Inn is a bit away from Big Bend parks, yes, the water pressure is low and yes, the honkin train is quite annoying. But however, as long as you don't realize staying in a dry desert and Americans still can't handle crossing railways in a proper manner, you have to deal with it. I did and had a great time here! The Maverick is one special place, as well as their owners. I stayed a few days and loved it all. Awesome art all over the place, individual rooms, great breakfast with goodies from the recommended local bakery. What else do I need then some lovely southern hospitality?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the review it is special. You conveyed the feel of our little inn as well as can be done. We have renovated a 1930's "motor court" and it has a couple of challenges, but we love it and do our best to make it "your place" when you visit and I appreciate your candid description very much...Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I just went for our 10 year wedding anniversary and had an amazing time! Mark was so helpful and welcoming to us, we got to check in early and then he had a little gift basket waiting for us in our room, he made us reservations for dinner and had lots of helpful information on the area and things to do. All of the staff was very friendly and made us feel very welcome and at home during our stay. We will definately stay here next time we are in the area. Food was great too!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Jill,
Thank you so much, we were just glad to be a part of a milestone in y'alls life and that good memories were made....Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited Big Bend for Spring Break and stayed at the Maverick. The motel is very quaint and the staff is very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in 2 rooms (#23 & #24). These are very small rooms with a king bed and a tiny bathroom. We were traveling with our kids, so we put them in their own room. The rooms are not connecting. The breakfast bar was great, there is something for everyone. All the guest would share their adventures and tout each other on 'must sees'. We would grab our breakfast and sit outside on the porch to greet the morning. After a long day of hiking we would sit around the fire pit and discuss the days events and plan for the next day. Very relaxing and enjoyable. It was cold when we were there, so we did not use the pool, but it looked nice. The Wifi was very helpful.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms 20-25. You have the street traffice all night and the rooms are tiny. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for the review, tips and comments! It thrilled me to hear of all the face-to-face interaction of the morning and evening gatherings during your Spring Break adventure. Thanks for choosing the Maverick! Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We planned to stay at the Maverick on Tuesday and Friday of a trip to Big Bend. Well, when we got there, we were surprised to find out that we didn't have a reservation as thought. We had originally done it on Expedia , then cancelled , then made it again by calling the Maverick directly. I'm not blaming anyone for the glitches reservation. File it under stuff happens.

Tuesday:Our reservations got mixed up and we were unable to stay there. We arrived on spring break week and didn't have a room as we thought. Mark got on the phone and made us reservations at the Holland, a sister property. We enjoyed our stay there and couldn't have done it without him.

Friday: Received a call from Mark again while we were staying in Marathon. He knew that we were a family of four and all he had reserved for us was a single king. I told him it was ok, but he once again hooked us up in a swa-weet room at The Holland.

In short, he took care of us nonguests, going above and beyond what was expected. The Maverick looks like a great place to stay, but the owners actions speak volumes. He called me twice during the week. Thanks Mark. We appreciate everything you did. The Holland was great! Maybe we can stay with you next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review on a personal level! My mentor in the hotel business impressed upon me that excuses to travelers were inexcusable, I had a good teacher, so your review and thanks spans a couple of decades and is a tribute to someone who was one of the most influential in my career in hospitality, Thanks so much, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed a night here on our way to Big Bend. Such a cute little place. The owner and staff were so welcoming. We were traveling with five other families and the staff were very accommodating and welcomed our chaos. :) Lots of attention to detail for a motel in this price range. The kitchen was stocked with lots of goodies. Especially loved the courtyard out back- it was nice to have an area for the kids to burn off some energy.

Several in the group commented that they'd rather spend the entire trip here than moving on to sleeping on the ground in Big Bend! Next time we will stay longer. Thank you Mark and staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Cyndi,
Thank you! I hope the remainder of y'alls trip went well. I am so glad we had you here, it felt like we had the whole neighborhood and it brought back fond memories for me of childhood trips our family took with others. We'd love to have you use us a base of operations for your next Big Bend adventure, maybe when the pool's open-I could see the gang gathering there. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maverick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick Inn

Address: 1200 E. Holland Ave., Alpine, TX 79830
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Maverick Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and most popular of hotels in Alpine, Texas, the Maverick Inn features rooms with luxury amenities and complimentary continental breakfast and high speed Internet access, and located across from Sul Ross State University and near Big Bend National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Maverick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Alpine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maverick Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.