We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Casita
1104 E. Ave. H, Alpine, TX 79830
432-837-2842
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 33 Restaurants in Alpine
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I'm biased as I grew up visiting Alpine and have been eating at La Casita for years. But it really is great authentic Mexican food. Fast, friendly service and great prices. Family friendly with indoor and outdoor seating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    40
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Out Standing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We loved this little hidden secret in Alpine. When we asked for a good place for Mexican food the hotel suggested La Casita and gave us directions. We were not disappointed in anything we tried and as a matter of fact we ate here both evenings we stayed in Alpine and can't wait to come back again. The service was friendly, the atmosphere homey and the food excellent!!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Tex-mex and Fast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Excellent fajita plate and VERY fast service. They don't stay open very late (even on weekends), but they make up for the hours in speedy and friendly service. Never had a bad meal here yet, and large portions are the norm.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lajitas, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“MMM good Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Off the beaten path restaurant, you need to know where it is in order to find but well worth the search. Tacos were fabulous. Service was great and atmosphere reminded me of the Mexican restaurants on the West side of San Antonio in the good old days.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great little out of the way hole in the wall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

If this were in Key West it'd get raves, here its merely a great little joint. Cash only, very sweet waitress. Very good very fast meal. Guacamole as good as Rosa Mexicana. After lunch we and the teenagers adjourned to the Dairy Queen for a blizzardn old timely joint too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita also viewed

 

Been to La Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.