We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holland Hotel to your Saves list
Holland Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 West Holland Avenue, Alpine, TX 79830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Alpine
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Last year we stayed here on our way to Big Bend National Park and I am sorry we only stayed one night! The rooms were beautiful and the service was excellent! I am just sorry we didn't stay longer. Lovely little town and great base to explore the region.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you!
I thrills me to think that you would have remembered us on a one night stay nearly a year ago!
Thank you so much for your review and comments and we'd love to see you this year...Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    52
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
113
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great old hotel that has been nicely updated. Lobby is beautiful, rooms were nicely updated, comfortable and clean. Lots of public space downstairs, as well as an onsite restaurant and bar. Nice breakfast is offered in the morning. Alpine is a little over an hour to Big Bend NP, but with just a few hours there is a nice loop drive you can take for brief trip to the park. There is a train station across the street, but I did not notice any excessive noise, even though our room faced the main street.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Front Office Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review!! Alpine is a great place and has a lot of things for the sightseer. Our Hotel is truly a historic place. We are so glad that you enjoyed you stay! Please come see us again!!

Thanks,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

What a wonderful historic hotel! The location is perfect in downtown Alpine. You can walk to the train station across the street (the trains did not wake us up) and to several restaurants including the well-known Reata, which we highly enjoyed. The public areas of the hotel are beautiful and I could have lingered in the comfortable and cozy sitting area for hours just to soak up the atmosphere and enjoy the fireplace. Just outside the French doors is a lovely courtyard with tables and yet another fireplace. There is a very nice bar just inside the front door and also a business center where you have access to a computer if needed. Parking out on the side street was easy, convenient and free. The hotel is elegant in a casual way that is very comfortable. I even loved the room keys.....so fun! Our room was very nice, plenty of space, very clean and the mattress was very comfortable. There were nice toiletries in the bath. We stayed in room 317 and loved it, and enjoyed a great night's sleep. The hotel employees were all very nice and we received great customer service from all of them. They recommended visiting the Museum of the Bend at the college and it was definitely worthwhile. I heartily advocate staying at this hotel if you're anywhere close to this area just to experience the charm of this historic lodging. It's a treat!

Room Tip: I loved our room, number 317.....very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Front Office Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the Awesome review. Especially about the hotel it's self and the staff. We are very blessed to have to the amazing staff that we do have!! Our hotel is rich with historic value and a true staple here in Alpine!

Thanks,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Last weekend our friends got married in Alpine. Almost all the events centered around the Holland. I stayed in the Wright Building out back, which was a real blessing given how rowdy some of us got. Our room was quiet (even the train wasn't that bothersome). The building and rooms reminded me of my grandmother's house built in the 30s/40s. The "rooms" are actually small apartments with full kitchen and bath. The shower head was comically low since the home was built when a man's average height was 5ft 5in, and taking a shower bent over at the waist made me laugh. The bed was comfortable even though I've seen other reviews commenting to the contrary.

The common areas of the hotel are really worth the stay. There is a Western elegance to the place that was thoroughly enjoyable. We had over 165 people in the great room, and a fire was burning in the courtyard. The bar was great. We were in dire need of the bloody Mary bar Saturday morning.

The staff was very accommodating. Mark and Jessica went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable, and the bar staff were the best--trust me, we kept them VERY busy.

I really don't think you can go wrong staying at the Holland.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Front Office Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for you review! We had so much fun with you guys we were sad to see you go!! Please come and stay with us again as return guest!!

Thanks,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Beautifully renovated hotel. Stenciled beamed ceilings in the lobby and bar were outstanding. Lobby was decorated for Christmas and had a C & W singer in the evening. Rooms were very comfortable. Convenient to the train station. Food at restaurant was very good. Some problems in the kitchen made for long waits for some folks although our service went just fine.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Front Office Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
First thank you so much for you wonderful review of our historic hotel. It is beautiful and rich with history!! Second thank you for your comments on the restaurant even the best oiled machine gets kinks at times..Please let us know when you would like to return!!


Thanks,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

On our most recent visit to the area, my husband and I treated ourselves to Christmas Night at the Holland. Things were quiet due to the holiday but there was great live music through the day, a wonderful fixed menu dinner, and a very attentive staff - even though they were giving up their Christmas Day for us. The trains did not bother us at all. We definitely heard them, but it is the sort of sound that you wake up to, smile a little, roll over and then go back to sleep. Our bed and our room were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good - pretty typical - with the exception of the homemade granola which was exceptional and a very good coffee. We enjoyed the stay and would recommend it to anyone heading to Alpine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Front Office Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for you review! And for the wonderful comment on the staff and our rooms!! Please let us know when you would like to return. Can't wait to see ya'll again.

Thanks,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were really excited about our trip to West Texas and found a great deal on Groupon for 4 nights at this lovely hotel over NYE. The pro's: 1) We were always able to find parking in their small-ish lot, 2) the bar was fantastic (especially the Bloody Mary bar on Sundays with an awesome brunch menu), 3) the bartenders were super friendly and 4) the hotel overall had lots of charm and character. 5) The free breakfast had a decent variety - breads, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. 6) The food at the restaurant was delish, albeit on the pricey side. 7) We didn't expect the rooms to be huge since it's a historic property and they met our expectations. 8) After reading all the reviews regarding the noise, we were concerned about the trains. We didn't find them to be annoying at all, and we could see the tracks from our room. We didn't need the earplugs or white noise.
The cons: 1) The bed was horrible, absolutely dreadful. It was so bad that the first night that I checked online at 4am to see what other hotels had availability because I couldn't sleep. 2) The last day we were there, the lady putting out the breakfast was sick and coughing. I know that staffing can be difficult over the holidays, but it was not appetizing to eat food that had been coughed all over. 3) And lastly, the bathtub needed to be refinished. It was gross looking and I wouldn't even consider taking a bath in it.

We can imagine how much work went into restoring this hotel and they did a great job. In my mind, the purpose of Groupon is to engage return visits. The only way I could think about returning was if we knew all the beds had been replaced. They were that bad. Neither of us got a full night sleep the entire time we were there. We would go back to visit the bar and restaurant, but can't get past the beds. Otherwise, it's a very lovely hotel in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Great Dane,
Thank you for the review although it was disconcerting to learn of your bedding issue. First I would like to thank you for the wonderful comments regarding the century Bar & Grill and I am very glad that you had an enjoyable time. Being the new GM on property I really appreciate your concerns in the areas you were not pleased with, I truly wish that it had been brought to my attention during your stay and been given the opportunity to address that with you, but it's never too late! Please contact me personally at 432.837.2803 in my 3 months on property this is the only negative comments I have received concerning our bedding and would appreciate further discussion with you and an opportunity to make it up to you.

Thank you,
Mark Spring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Address: 209 West Holland Avenue, Alpine, TX 79830
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.