We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holland Hotel to your Saves list
Holland Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 West Holland Avenue, Alpine, TX 79830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lubbock, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Stay Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have stayed at MANY high end hotels and this one, by far, was the most unique! We loved the decor, in that it kept with the originality of the hotel. When we checked in, they were pretty full so we ended up renting the Penthouse Suite. It was amazing, king size bed to die for and it's own private deck with a hot tub (NOT a whirlpool tub). The hotel has beautiful historic pictures and actual keys for the doors (not key cards lol). We will stay at the Holland every time we travel anywhere near Alpine!

Room Tip: Splurge for the Penthouse ... you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We value our guests' feedback and we really appreciate hearing it. Without it we would not be able to improve and make sure your next stay is better than the last. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Penthouse Suite. It is amazing just as you stated! Thank you again. Please let us know whenever you will be coming back, we will have the hot tub ready for you!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    59
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
132
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chaumont, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have never been treated any nicer and better in my life.Joe and Georgia and staff really know how to treat people.The rooms are beautiful ,the lobby is hugh, and has true western flavor.Breakfast was great with an outdoor atrium,also opening a new restaurant.This town is in the TEXAS ALPS simply beautiful. Thanks for the memory JIM,SUE,JIMMY and AMBER,SEE YA AGAIN!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I just wanted to say it was such a pleasure to meet you all. I am so happy to hear what a great time you and your family had on your visit to Alpine. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate it very much. Also it is our promise to you, the next time you visit you will have even more fun than before. Please let us know when you will be visiting Alpine again. Also don't forget to ask to the repeat guest special!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordheim, Tx
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Three couples on bike ride to west Texas spent 3 nights at Holland Hotel. We all enjoyed our stay and the excellent hospitality of the staff. Beautiful old hotel. Breakfast was soon good! Their new bar & grill should be open soon. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
First and foremost I hope you all had a great time on your bike ride to West Texas, how fun! Thank you so much for your lovely compliments. We are looking forward to your return!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Holland for two nights as part of a journey thru the region. The penthouse unit was a little pricey, but well worth it. You have to walk up to the top floor, but have a spacious room, a small kitchen area with microwave and sink, and an awesome outdoor space with a good view of the mountains, the stars and a large hot tub for two. The staff at the Holland were enthusiastic and friendly, and the decor is vintage. The only possible drawback for some might be the trains going through. We don't mind the sound, but it was loud. The hotel provides ear plugs anyway in the room. If you stay there, be sure to travel up to Marfa to see the "mystery lights." An engaging community experience with a twist of mystery thrown in. We'll definitely be back to the Holland.

Room Tip: The penthouse is perfect for rail fans and star gazers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! And we are so happy to here you enjoyed your stay in our Penthouse Suite! We enjoyed reading your lovely compliments. Please let us know the next time you will be in Alpine

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Holland! Everything was very comfortable, warm and welcoming. We enjoyed the complimentary drink as well as breakfast! We can't wait to return! Definitely stay in the Penthouse!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your stay in September. We value our guests' feedback so much, without it we couldn't strive to make each stay better than the last. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your complimentary drink, breakfast and the penthouse! Please let us know when you will be in town again. We have great repeat guest specials!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We loved our visit! We stayed one night in the "Penthouse" with a jacuzzi and then the last night in a Junior Suite room. Both rooms were wonderful! The hotel also gave us breakfast vouchers for the Bread & Breakfast cafe on the next block and it was great to sit, eat & talk to locals. We we're within walking distance to the Riata Restaurant and the only movie theatre within 2 hours of anywhere! We stayed during the Labor Day weekend and had loads of activities to participate (Balloonfest, Marfa Lights Fest, McDonald Observatory Star Party, Solar Viewing, and tour, farmers market, Fort Davis exploration, sightseeing). We absolutely loved our stay and will definitely return some day!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank You so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay! We value your feedback! We are so pleased to hear what a wonderful Labor Day Weekend y'all had! Please let us know when you will be returning to Alpine!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Groupon brought us to the Holland Hotel. Our assigned room wasn't ready, so they moved us to a Jr. Suite. Lots of room and a jacuzzi tub. Our first night was rough as we weren't on top of the remote that controlled the room temperature - also the noise from passing trains kept us from getting a good night's sleep. The tub has a sloping bottom - not the easiest to use for standing to take a shower. We discussed our concerns with those at the front desk the next morning. Have to say that they couldn't have been nicer. We moved to a room with a king bed and a regular tub. Also we were able to keep the room temperature ideal as the remote was much better. Night 2 was perfect !!! We loved the hotel and would recommend it. Considering its age, it is well maintained. The new bar and pub which should open within a month or so will be a great addition. Another plus are the iced tea, coffee and delicious lemonade that are always available. Actually two nights were not enough, there are more things to see and do on another trip.

Room Tip: Liked the third floor location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank You so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor! We value our guests' feedback, we strive to make each stay more enjoyable than the last and without your feedback and comments we could not do so! We are looking forward to your return, we will definitely make sure you have the same room as you did your 2nd night with us!

Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Address: 209 West Holland Avenue, Alpine, TX 79830
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.