We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Outside View, Crappy Food.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Penny's Diner

Penny's Diner
2407 E. Hwy 90, Alpine, TX 79830
432.837.5711
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 31 restaurants in Alpine
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Buda, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cool Outside View, Crappy Food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited Penny's after seeing the cute silver 1950s exterior. When I asked the lady at the Chamber of Commerce about the restaurant she politely said she had been there and "some people like it" with a dead pan face. She was right.

It is simple. It is cheap. We had a breakfast and lunch meal. It was food. That's about it. Staff seemed bored with lack of customers. Cleanliness was ok. This should be a last option for a fast meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

41% Recommend
    10
    13
    14
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Great place to dine in at any time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I like the atmosphere of Penny's. The staff are very friendly. Also its opened 24 hours a day 7 days a week!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too pricey for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed next door so it was close. I ordered a club sandwich and it looked like my 5yr old made it. I wasn't too happy with it for the price. Service was not to pleasant were the cashier didn't say thank you.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Cute diner but got sick...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Penny's Diner can't be missed when driving thru Alpine. Shiny old fashioned diner lying along the main road. When entering the diner, we saw that the floor and tables were not very clean, and there were flies flying around. But we were hungry, and decided to stay. We had a pleasant stay there, nice people we had a chat with and the things we ordered were tasty (we ordered different things) and not too expensive. Unfortunately one of us got pretty sick later that night, and returned everything she ate at Penny's to nature, within an hour...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
2 reviews
“Find a better place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Food was okay, staff was okay. There were flies in the restaurant. Some people eating there (an old man in a cowboy hat and a couple) were strange and had a bit of a staring problem. I don't know if they were locals, but it didn't phase us our stay in Alpine. We ate, moved on and left them in their little town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Penny's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.