We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Reata Restaurant

Reata Restaurant
203 N. Fifth, Alpine, TX 79890
(817) 336-1009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Reata Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Alpine
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Buhl, ID
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Incredible expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I come from Chicago and I have tried the most expensive restaurant at the green city but Reata wins for high price. I ordered a $35 steak and for that price I wanted to be perfect. The steak was frozen, not fresh although well seasoned. The potatoes and overcooked vegetables were terrible. Reata has a nice cool patio in the back, all though service can be slow. Never feel like going there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    78
    29
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Attended during a music festival. The place was crowded, and service was pretty good. Food was good, and prices reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The stress of preparing & serving food during the VBB music festival is tough on a premium restaurant but Reata came through. Ribeye was very good as usual. Wife's bbq shrimp enchaladas were outstanding. Service was good considering the overflow crowd. We always dine here when visiting Alpine and are never disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dining out for my first chicken fried steak, grits and calf fries!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ummm, liked it all, but not to fond of the calf fries though, lol. Great restaurant, shared the event with fun adventurous old and new friends! Interior decor was authentic and genuine. Food was of very good quality! Company was delightful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Little Place, BIG Steak and Texas taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Travelling from Austin, staying in Alpine, we made reservations for this special steak house located in the main center of Alpine, downtown. Expensive, fresh, "real" Texas, this restaurant is decorated in cowboy motif, wait staff are friendly, and food was delicious.

They are expensive for some ... menu is online. You need reservations in advance although the weeknight we were there we only saw one other couple.

You don't have to dress "nice" but you might want elastic pants if you order the 60 ounce steak... the size of my companion's head! LOL

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reata Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Reata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reata Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.