We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great drinks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Century Bar & Grill

The Century Bar & Grill
209 W. Holland Ave., Alpine, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 31 restaurants in Alpine
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bowie, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We did not eat there but had several drinks. I always rate a place on their Bloody Marys. The Century Bar gets an A+!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    24
    23
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The newest place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wow, they did a great job on the restaurant. Really nice atmosphere and very good service. We can't wait to go back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Had a couple of drinks at the bar. It was very kitschy and the staff was really nice. The decor added to the West Texas feel.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Holland Hotel in Alpine, TX for a week and had the opportunity to dine at their newly renovated restaurant, the Century Bar & Grill. It was FABULOUS!! On our first night, my fiance' had the tenderloin with a poblano blue cheese sauce that was DIVINE!!! I had the pecan crusted chicken fried steak with a chorizo, jalapeno & corn gravy...YUM (I'm drooling right now)!! On another night I had the roasted quail appetizer with a sour cherry sauce that was out of this world!! The food is simply wonderful!! Chef Alex is an wonderfully talented man and the manager Donovan was very helpful in introducing us to some wonderful new wines. The staff and servers were excellent as well. I would definitely recommend this restaurant even if you aren't staying at the Holland. It's one of those restaurants that you would normally find in a big city but it's located in the little town of Alpine. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Century Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Century Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Century Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.