We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Tree Inn Alpine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oak Tree Inn Alpine to your Saves list
Oak Tree Inn Alpine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2407 East Highway 90, Alpine, TX 79830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Alpine
Centralia, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“clean and comfortable rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

we stayed two nights here and were very happy with the accomdations.Not only were the rooms nice but the breakfast was delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful.We would stay here again. We enjoyed visiting the many historic buildings and landmarks. There was no pool for the kids but it was nice and quiet for anyone that was looking for a goo night sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    15
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel was not up to par with what is available elsewhere in town. The Included breakfast was a coupon for the detached diner.

Needs to be updated somewhat. Just felt old.

No pool, don't remember if there was an exercise room. What used to be a hot tub location was filled in. Met lots a folks who work for the railroad so seem they have a contract.

Stay October 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

There is no need in spending any more time on this review than I spent at the Oak Tree Inn, Alpine, TX property. The outside doorways of the property were bug infested and the locks were broken on the doors. The hallways smelled of mold and mildew. Upon entering the room I the smell of urine was so overwhelming that I had to step outside to catch my breath. I immediately cancelled the reservation with Hotwire and informed them that the rating of this property as a 2.5 star was not only incorrect but quite frankly fraud.

The name of this property should be changed from the Oak Tree Inn to the Old Pee Inn. It's disgusting and quite frankly unfit for habitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OTI, Manager at Oak Tree Inn Alpine, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear tltalbert,

We know you have many choices for lodging while in Alpine and apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We take your comments seriously and have addressed the issues you had with your stay. We utilized your review to help train our team, so that it will not happen again and hope that you will consider us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We booked at the last minute and this was the last hotel available that could accommodate a family of 4. We were pleasantly surprised. This is a great hotel for the price. It's not luxurious, but when you have two small children, that's not critical. The beds are comfortable and we loved the dark shades blocking the sun in the morning (kept the kids sleeping longer). The room was kept clean. Service was wonderful. And Penny's Diner was a welcome change from the continental breakfast you get at many economy hotels. I recommend for those on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have booked Oak Tree Inn in Alpine, TX after reading favorable reviews here and on Hotels.com. I did not expect a 5 star luxury accommodations. However, the hotel gives description of being newly renovated. It was renovated all right - cosmetically, maybe. To check in we had to go to Penny's Diner that was right on the property (same parking lot). The first big sign that we saw printed in huge red letters was "Leave it. Loose it" - a warning for leaving your stuff in the car. Then we had to walk back across the parking lot to the hotel itself. Our room was an average size. Refrigerator did not work. Microwave had obvious nasty food stains splattered all over. The worst thing though was the smell of mildew. We tried opening doors and windows and could not shake it at all. We arrived late and were exhausted after a long drive. No one had the strength to go back to the diner and try to change the room in the middle of the night. Plus the parking lot was getting busy with tipsy local youths that were hooping and hollering, and vomiting right at the entrance to the diner. There is a Best Western right next to this hotel, and a brand new Holidays Inn is going up right across the street. So for your visit to Big Bend choose these instead.
The diner was the brightest spot during our stay. Service was great and food was well prepared.

Room Tip: Smelly room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooden UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We liked the location in Alpine for the ease of driving to tourist locations within 50 miles.
Penny's Diner is good and we enjoyed the flexibility of the breakfast/ meal voucher.
The first room we were given had some faults but the handyman attended and gave us a satisfactory room. The hotel was easy to find and parking no problem.
On our tour, we even recommended it to other tourists that we met.
A tip though, if you want a quiet room, take one well back from the road.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Planned 3 nights to tour area of Big Bend and environs, stayed 4.
Beds were comfortable, service was friendly and helpful (had minor car problems).
Food at the dinner had great serving sizes and was tasty. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Tree Inn Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn Alpine

Address: 2407 East Highway 90, Alpine, TX 79830
Location: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Tree Inn Alpine 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oak Tree Inn Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Tree Inn Alpine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.