We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 East Stacy Road, Allen, TX 75002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Allen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We decided to go to Dallas to do some shopping. This hotel was a gem from the moment we checked in. The area was great for shopping and dining.
The breakfast at the hotel was good and fast. The parking was a little tight till we learned they had a park-ade across from the hotel free of charge. The room had a balcony which was great after a full day of shopping. The drinks at the bar were good after a long day. The fitness centre was clean and large. The staff were helpful and friendly. The price was great for the accommodations. By far one of the best courtyard experiences we have had.
Would recommend this hotel to people that are going to shop and do not know were to stay. We will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORA D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you found our hotel location, rooms and service superb. We love our adjacent covered parking garage and I am glad you enjoyed it as well.

We are happy to hear that our staff was able to make your experience with us an enjoyable one. Your kind words will be passed along to our staff.

Our hotel is a great option for Thanksgiving shopping since we are within walking distance of the Allen Premiun Outlets and the Village at Allen and Fairview.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience here at the Courtyard by Marriott Dallas-Allen. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Safe travels,

Dora Dillow
Guest Sevice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    75
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
77
35
3
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I can always depend on Courtyard to give me a great room. I got a room with a balcony...didn't use it because I was here for business..but the idea was cool.
This hotel has the typical nice people who wait on you at Courtyards and wonderful rooms.
The hotel is around shops , shops, and more shops. And then there is food, and more food places.
It's two skips and a hop to the freeway and easy in and out.
There's a Target and Whole Foods also very very close.

Negative: The towels were dingy....not white ....and very noticable

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORA D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott Dallas-Allen. It was nice to hear that our staff, rooms, location, and area ammenities made your trip a success.

I will pass along your comments about our towels to Housekeeping so they can take care of it.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future!

Sincerely,
Dora Dillow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

For several years, I have stayed at the Allen Texas Courtyard by Marriott. Early on, I gave this hotel a fairly high (4-star) rating. Indeed, this was the first Courtyard I'd ever stayed at and I was very pleased. Subsequently, I've stayed at other Courtyards and their overall consistency and excellence has been appreciated. Returning to Allen, Texas for a recent meeting I returned of course to the Courtyard here and was sadly disappointed at the reduction in standards and services. Among the problems: two of the three dresser drawers contained extra bedding, leaving a single drawer for clothes. Second, no in-room safe, which is true for all Courtyards, a little but not critical annoyance. On the other hand, every room has a small microwave and refrigerator. Third, there has always been courtesy coffee in the lobby in the morning. Sadly, the courtesy coffee, found in most hotels these days, has disappeared; so, for morning coffee it's overpriced Starbucks in the lobby restaurant/coffee bar or the two bakeries and coffee shops adjacent to the Courtyard. Why no coffee in the lobby? Not clear. Admittedly, there was in-room instant coffee, but every hotel seems to have this amenity. Not good enough. Fourth, in-room heating / air-conditioning was not working properly, resulting in a unit which blasted out cold air despite the thermostat setting; cold outside, cold inside. Reporting the malfunctioning unit to the front desk did no good and was not fixed during my stay. Fifth, the fitted bottom sheet on the bed was, well, not fitted. Minor annoyance but not the kind of excellence one would expect from a Courtyard. On the good side, USA Today and Wall Street Journal available at no charge; excellent desk staff as always; clean rooms; excellent lighting; comfortable beds; a surplus of pillows (I don't need five pillows, but having lots of pillows are "in"); free wifi, HDTVs in all rooms. But, given the negatives for this otherwise outstanding hotel, they're now a two-star until things improve. Start with the morning coffee and fix the in-room ac/heat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORA D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Dallas-Allen. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our guest service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel staff, please send an email to dora.dillow@jqh.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,

Dora Dillow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, AR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

With its proximity to the Allen Events Center, this Courtyard breaks the mold of conventional Marrito chains. The lobby is big and expansive with a a nice size breakfast area. Convenient to the Allen Outlets and a short drive into Plano, the location is ideal if you don't need to stay in the city. The rooms are standard fare for Courtyard, up to the four drop on a leaf print that adorns every Courtyard bathroom in the US. The beds still don't comapre to full fare Marriotts or those at Doubletree. Great value overall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORA D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We are happy to hear about your positive experience with our location, lobby, room and social spaces. We appreciate your business and are happy that you feel our hotel was a good value.
Best Regards & Safe Travels,
Dora Dillow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was at this hotel for a wedding and what a great hotel for the price. The room are a great size and some have balconies, be sure to ask for one. The hotel is fairly new and has a restaurant and lounge. It is close to the outlet mall and there are so many bars & restaurants right around it to walk to. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORA D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott Dallas-Allen. It was nice to hear that our price, ammenities and location made your trip a success. We love hosting weddings at our property! Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had a reward certificate expiring soon, so decided to stay in my hometown. It was a chance to explore the nearby restaurants and shopping stores. The hotel facility is beautiful inside and out. It is well maintained and in excellent conditon. Staff was courteous and gracious. My room was on a high floor with a balcony. Parking was plentiful, although I believe I stayed on a low occupancy night. I will definetly stay again and recommend my friends to this hotel when they visit. Although I live in town, I felt like I was in another city miles away. And that is exactly what i wanted.

Room Tip: If an event is going on at the adjacent Center, I would request a higher floor to escape the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORA D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the great service that you received during your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Dallas-Allen. Your comments will be passed to our staff members. At the Courtyard we are excited you felt you were somewhere else completely and you chose us for your free certificate. The Village shopping area is certanly worthy to experience and explore. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay and we welcome the opportunity of serving you once again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I ended up in this hotel by accident - had a reservation at a Fairfield, which was overbooked, and they sent me to this Courtyard. Sorry Fairfield, you lost a customer. Hands down, this Courtyard property is better. Better location, easy access to 121 and 75, very well maintained property, courteous staff, nice gym and pool, covered parking nearby, ample room, well appointed, everything in good working order. Very good cost/benefit. Worth alternative in NE Dallas region.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORA D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the great service that you received during your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Dallas-Allen. Your comments will be passed to our staff members. We are excited you found our ammenities and hotel outsdanding. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay and we welcome the opportunity of serving you once again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center

Address: 210 East Stacy Road, Allen, TX 75002
Location: United States > Texas > Allen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Allen
#5 Family Hotel in Allen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Allen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard by Marriott Dallas/Allen at the John Q Hammons Center is conveniently located at the intersection of Hwy 75 and Stacy Road in The Village at Allen. The hotel includes 228 guest rooms and suites with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. This north Dallas hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Located in The Village at Allen there are several dining, shopping, and entertainment options steps away. The Allen Events Center is located next door and home to the Allen Americans Central Hockey League team. Companies within a short distance include: Raytheon, Jack Henry & Associates, State Farm, PFS Web, Frontier and Experian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Dallas Allen At The John q Hammons Hotel Allen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q Hammons Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.