We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, Bad & Ugly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Alice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Alice to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Alice
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2965 East Main Street, Intersection of Highway 44 & Highway 128, Alice, TX 78332   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alice
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The Good, Bad & Ugly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

THE GOOD
Belinda and Shannon (the breakfast ladies) were a joy! So cheerful, happy, and nice!
Brian at the front desk was very helpful and patient with our check in and we appreciate him so very much.
Our room was spacious and the channel selection was very good.
THE BAD
Maintenance is not up to par with the majority of the Holiday Inn Expresses we have stayed at. We had a cabinet door with a broken hinge. The Bathroom door was odd. It wouldn’t stay open, so we had to use a garbage can to prop it open. Also, the bathroom door won’t open all the way because it hits the room’s entry door. Our room didn’t have enough electrical outlets for modern technology.
THE UGLY
For the first time in over 30 years of traveling, we had to file a grievance against an HIE. Our issue was with the failure to clean our room and housekeepers inventing circumstances to cover their butts. In addition, the management failed to take care of the situation.
It was also very difficult to get towels; for 2 days in a row I had to call down to the front desk for towels.
When pulling into the parking lot we had to stop and back our 13’6” high truck out into traffic because the power lines are VERY LOW.
We shared our room with a variety of bugs. There was a dead bug in the lobby for 2 days before I picked it up – ick!
The first impression we had of the hotel is that as we walked up to the front entry, we noticed garbage blowing around the parking lot and the front ashtray was overflowing. (It was left overflowing for 3 days.)
This is one hotel that I WILL NEVER STAY AT AGAIN! If business brings us back to Alice, TX, we’ll either find another hotel to stay at, or we’ll stay in Corpus Christi and make the daily commute.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alice, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback. It gives an opportunity to serve you better. Sorry to hear about your experience that was not to your satisfaction, however was happy to know that you enjoyed the service of our breakfast and front desk team. Apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay and it is seriously addressed to the concerned departments. We assure you that in your future stay, you will be wowed by our entire team and will enjoy your entire stay with us. Allow us that opportunity to serve and take good care of you . I will personally see that you experience the stay to your satisfaction and above .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My Grandmother and I took a trip to Alice this past weekend, and we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel very much surpassed my expectations. The room was immaculate and smelled wonderful and clean. The bathroom was also very clean and spacious. The kitchenette in our room was also very nice and came stocked with paper good which I had never seen before.
The breakfast was amazing. The choices were never ending and the supply was never low. The breakfast area was also very clean, and the two ladies that worked that area were very friendly and accommodating. They were very helpful and made sure that everything was very clean.
The front desk personnel were also great. We needed directions and they had no problem helping us. They even wrote down the directions.
This hotel very much surpassed my expectations. When we visit Alice again we will definitely be staying there. The staff, service, rooms, and breakfast were all great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alice, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback about your experience with us. My team will be very happy and proud to have made your stay experience with us so wonderful and enjoyable. It's all about making those moments memorable and I am so happy , my team made those memorable moments for you. We definitely look forward you to come back and visit us again, whenever you are in Alice, and be assured, you will get the same wonderful service.
Thank you , once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

For a Holiday Inn Express..I was expecting clean and updated. What I received was old, run down and no happy hour. Actually, the happy hour is a great feature for business travelers..I asked the girl about the happy hour and was told they didn't do that like other Holiday Inn's....she offered me a beer from an ice chest behind the counter...

The room was not maintained properly...I found hair bands on the floor in the bathroom...toothpaste in the sink and it could use pest control.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alice, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time in giving us your feedback. It allows us the opportunity to do better. I shall definitely look into this and address this issue . I apologize for the disappointing experience you had but assure you, you will find a positive change the next time you stay with us. We look forward for your future stay, allowing us to better serve and take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I arrived around 5 pm we were really tired but the young lady checked us in fast and friendly I really like staying at this hotel .we have stayed here at least four other times I have lots of family in this town but we like to stay here because it's so comfortable

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alice, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for making our team happy for sharing the great and homely welcome and service you received during your stay with us. Appreciate taking your time to give us your feedback, and we definitely look forward you to come and stay with us again and motivate our happy team to make it more enjoyable, each time of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agua Dulce, Tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

From the staff to amenities to the room, everything was great and above our expectations. We will definately be staying here on our future trips to Alice, TX. The staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were big and comfortable. The cable has many channels so options are great! The room was very clean, so props to the housekeeping staff for a job well done! I would definately recommend this property to anyone! Thank you Holiday Inn Express Alice, Tx for making us feel right at home and very comfortable! Cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alice, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you So much for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you had such a great experience with us. Our team strives for the best service and believe in our slogan Great Hotels Guests Love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Even though we only stayed for one night, we had very enjoyable stay. The only "problem" we had was figuring out the shower.
The breakfast was good, we always get a kick out of the automatic pancake maker.
They overall stay was great it's a quite a way from the main route 281, but worth the effort.
A good value for the money.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alice, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank uou for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear about your great experience with your stay with us. And yes, our showers are a little tricky to open, and my frontdesk team would have been more than happy to walk you to run the shower. And , our pancake machine are everyones favorite and i am glad you enjoed it too. Looking forward to have all back again to enjoy the stays with us. Thankyou for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went to family get together and spent the night at the Holiday Inn. Very nice. Highly recommend. Very good breakfast. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Wi-Fii was a little weak in the rooms. Good location

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Alice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Alice

Address: 2965 East Main Street, Intersection of Highway 44 & Highway 128, Alice, TX 78332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Alice
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Alice 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alice. Warm to our hospitality in any of our 65 appointed guest rooms ! We are conveniently located near downtown Alice, TX and just minutes away from the Alice International and Corpus Christi International airports. Holiday Inn Express is in the Intercontinental Hotels Group. As part of this group, we strive for excellence. Our friendly staff is very proud to make this your home away from home.Another smart idea - we said good-bye to having a traditional bedspread as part of our Simply Smart Bedding Collection Instead, our all white triple- sheeting just screams freshness. And if you do your thinking in the shower, prepare to be inspired with our complete bathroom makeover such as Stay Smart shower head. You'll appreciate the large, comfortable work spaces in every room. From communications to accommodations, you'll find our amenities the perfect companion for the business or leisure traveler. Every room includes a microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffer maker, full sized iron and board, free local calls, high-speed Internet and 2 phones. While here, we'll get you started each morning with our complimentary breakfast buffet. Served every day, we ve got lots of breakfast choices and now, we feature hot entrees too. Cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage patties, crispy bacon and other favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Alice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Alice Hotel Alice
Holiday Inn Alice
Alice Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Alice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.