We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preferred place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alamo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Inn
Save
You added Alamo Inn to your Saves list
801 Main Street, Alamo, TX 78516   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alamo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
austin, texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Preferred place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Look, this ain't the big city so the choices are fairly standard and bland. This place, however, has character and is run by very nice folks. They even have a couple of "cottages" which gives you a full kitchen so you can explore your inner chef. As a business traveler I certainly prefer the offerings of this establishment. If I were a tourist, there would be no question as well; but then, I don't need a swimming pool and a "continental" breakfast.

Room Tip: for two travelers who want their own room and bathroom, the Inca Dove Cottage is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
48
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
388 reviews 388 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 216 cities Reviews in 216 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I've stayed at the Alamo Inn as a single lodger, as a bird group leader, and as a member of a party of two to four. We've enjoyed several of the theme suites. This last trip was on short notice (chasing a rare bird). I called innkeeper Keith Hackland from the bird site at 7 p.m. and asked if he had a room available. He did, and met us at the door an hour and a half later. We had a sitting/eating room, 2 bedrooms and 2 baths for the price of many 2 bed motel rooms.

Through the years, the cleanliness, quality of the accommodations, and superb personal service have been "top drawer".

Birders who know about the Alamo Inn are quick to sing its praises and only regret that by spreading the word may find it fully booked when they want to return. Check out the Alamo Inn webpage to learn the full set of options to choose from.

Room Tip: Various sizes of apartment-style rooms/suites are available for individuals to large groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have already said raved about our stay here to 4 of our friends: Great place to stay and go birding/nature exploring - literally just out the back door. Accommodations are so friendly and warm (and I don't mean the South Texas temperatures)! Our room was a large apartment with beautiful, cozy furnishings - full kitchen, king bed, dining room, living room, bathroom - all spacious. Very clean and safe.
The garden area is full of flowers and grass and there is a patio table to sit and watch the hummingbirds and other birds when you aren't off visiting Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge and the other birding hot spots within less than a 25 mile radius. The Alamo Inn also offers a very inviting Outdoor Store with a wide selection of binoculars, field books and gift items. We WILL be back and hopefully with family in our presence.

Room Tip: There are two locations for lodging - both within the same block. We stayed in an apartment-style r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You'll never find better customer service than in the Alamo Inn. Every effort was made to accommodate us in every way. These are NICE and very helpful people! If you are into birding, this is your place!

Room Tip: it's a cute place. Their website will show you your options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

A great location for birders. My husband and I stayed 4 nights in a room with a balcony a block away from the main B&B building. Accommodation was clean, comfortable and spacious. The owner's travel memorabilia lent the rooms a homey atmosphere. He (Keith) is very knowledgable about birding and provided valuable information on birding hotspots in the area. All the other guest were birders, we enjoyed chatting with them at breakfast and in the evening about our sightings. Excellent value. Highly recommend for birding in the LRGV.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This wonderful little hotel in the Rio Grande Valley is a great 'home away from home.' I'm a female traveling solo and felt completely comfortable staying here. The rooms were more than adequate in terms of size and amenities - and clean. The owner made everyone feel welcome and had a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit and eggs/sausage ready for the patrons early in the morning. Most if not all of us were there to see the great birds that show up in the Valley this time of year and the owner was very knowledgeable and helpful with locations to go and specific birds to see. I'll definitely stay there next time I go birding in the Valley.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We rented the Inca Dove Cottage cottage from the Alamo Inn from 13 - 18 April. What a wonderful place to stay! It is a roomy, fully equipped small house with everything that you need. Best of all, everything works, from the wonderful beds to the microwave oven. It even has a large washer and dryer. It is very centrally situated in the Valley and comes highly recommended from 3 birders.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Inn

Address: 801 Main Street, Alamo, TX 78516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Alamo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging for birders and other travelers in clean comfortable suites furnished with antiques and run by a caring host who is a knowledgeable area birder. Facilities include self serve breakfast, meeting room, birding & outdoor store, working artist's studio, free WIFI, free guest computer, and other free extras including area bird and butterfly maps and check lists. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.