We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay and Terrific if you are a birder.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alamo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Inn
Save
You added Alamo Inn to your Saves list
801 Main Street, Alamo, TX 78516   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alamo
Walsall. United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay and Terrific if you are a birder.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

A family of Three adults stayed for 13 nights the beginning of May 2012 and we could not have wished for a better place to stay, it was comfortable, homely, with all the amenities we could wish for, and more, from a B & B. It was a perfect central location for all the bird reserves in The Lower Rio Grande Valley, many very handy, others no farther than 60 0r 70 miles away with excellent roads and cheap, cheap, petrol costs. Within easy reach of McAllen International Airport. Also having a bird expert as the owner, Keith Hackland had all the info necessary for a successful birding trip. We have no hesitation of recommending The Alamo Inn to everyone who wants a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: All the suites are on the web page, most of them with a different theme, and all quite delightful, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
45
18
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest, UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I won't repeat the very full reviews that follow but they give a clear and accurate account of the facilities and excellent hospitality. We stayed in the Johnson Suite, packed with memorabilia as I'm sure other rooms are, with plenty space and storage. Fixtures and fittings aren't the latest but it's all in keeping and reasonably comfortable. It caters well to a specialist market.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

If you're planning a birding trip to the Lower Rio Grande Valley, no matter what your level of birding skills, this is the place to headquarter. My wife and I are novice/intermediate birders, and without the help of Keith, our experience would have been sparse. We booked accommodation at the Alamo Inn months in advance, and Keith immediately sent us the Birder's Guide to the Lower Rio Grande Valley, plus maps, which allowed us not only to plan, but to anticipate our stay. If you're a birder though, you know that a local birder's help eclipses whatever one reads in a guide book, and this is truly the value of a stay at the Alamo Inn, as Keith's help and guidance literally made our trip for us. He knew exactly where the Alpamado Falcon's nest was and where to find the Kingfishers, and his directions were spot on, always. Not only does he know what's going on day-by-day, he is very engaging and friendly. His rooms and units are perfect for the exhausted birder at the end of the day: not ostentatious, but cozy, complete, and quiet. If you're going to bird the Lower Rio Grande, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: If people above you trodding around are annoying, try to get a second story suite. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in mid April. This is a great spot that is within 60 minutes of great birding locations to both the east and west. There is a birding shop that is well stocked with guides that one can look through Our unit was well supplied with a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, private bath, bottled water and a tv. The unit was clean and the area was very safe. Keith is a very helpful but non intrusive manager and I really appreciate that. As for suggestions, Keith sends out directions and instructions via email a few days before your arrival. If you are on a road trip (like we were) and do not have internet access or attend to your email (as I did not), it is best to have a map from Google Maps and Keith's phone number with you before you leave. Second, a guide is a definite asset for at least a day. We waited until we got there before we decided to try and book one and none were available. Keith will line one up for you but book one when you book your room. Finally, we wanted a Mexican meal in Mexico so we went to Arturo's in Villo de Nuevo Progresso which is south of Weslaco and Estro Llano Grande State Park (an excellent birding site). Meal was great and there was no problem crossing the border.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed in one of the renovated apts - plenty of room to put your items, no nic nacs cluttering up tables and counters. Comfortable king size bed! Even had a balcony off the kitchen which turned out great for watching hummingbirds. They have purified water in large dispensers in every room and at dusk Lesser Nighthawks fly low at times around property. It was a lovely time.
Kathwren Y.
Sarasota Florida

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Friendly, helpful, extremely knowledgable about birds in area, great value for price. Was recommended by local bird watcher and I'd stay there again! $5 extra per person for breakfast or brown bag lunch w/lots of healthy food choices. Across the street is El Dorado Mexican restaurant which is not to be missed. Best chicken mole enchiladas I ever tasted.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We hired a self catering apartment at the Alamo Inn and, although it is not flashy, it was homely, comfortable, spotlessly clean, spacious and very well equipped. I don't think I have ever slept in a more comfortable bed and the chairs were a joy to sink into after a hard day's birding? The kitchen has everything you could need to cook a meal and even has a kettle for tea drinkers. The lounge area is very comfortably furnished with a homely feel.
Outside there was a table and chairs and the garden is well tended and pretty.
The hosts were very pleasant and Keith, gave us some great tips on where to find particular species. This was a great help, and we would have seen less birds if it hadn't been for his kind assistance. I would definitely stay in this accommodation again and have not hesitation in recommending it to anyone else. Superb service and value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms would be good. We had the one on the ground floor at the far end of the garden from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Inn

Address: 801 Main Street, Alamo, TX 78516
Location: United States > Texas > Alamo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging for birders and other travelers in clean comfortable suites furnished with antiques and run by a caring host who is a knowledgeable area birder. Facilities include self serve breakfast, meeting room, birding & outdoor store, working artist's studio, free WIFI, free guest computer, and other free extras including area bird and butterfly maps and check lists. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.