We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We visit every chance we get!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alamo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Inn
Save
You added Alamo Inn to your Saves list
801 Main Street, Alamo, TX 78516   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alamo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nomad
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We visit every chance we get!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Our first stay at the Alamo Inn was in early 2006 and we've been back at least once a year ever since. It's like returning home, but where home has a more social breakfast nook and an amazing little shop for any reference books that are on our wish list! We've gone with family in the past, as a romantic getaway (birders... we're like that!) and most recently stayed for business, even though it was 30 minutes away from the convention. It's just not worth staying at a chain hotel when you've got the Alamo Inn as an option.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
50
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I just came back from a wonderful birding and butterfly trip of the lower Rio Grande valley. We stayed in the Alamo Inn and found the rooms spacious, clean and with all the comforts of home. Keith is a great host and gave us tons of information on where to find birds and butterfiies on our trip This location is central to everywhere we wanted to go and we went everywhere! I highly recommend the Inn and I look forward to going back. One of the best trips ever.

Room Tip: Keith knows which rooms are best depending on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The Alamo Inn is a great place to stay and I will return there when I am in the lower Rio Grande Valley of Texas. The owner Keith knows how to please; there is no office but he is easily reached by phone. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Best of all, the rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: The inn is located on two premises with a city block between them. The suites are in a small apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Once you've stayed with Keith at the Alamo Inn, you'll never want to stay anywhere else. For birders, especially, this is the place....the location is central, the price is right, the hospitality and service unmatched.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I grew up in the Rio Grande Valley 60 years ago. As you would expect, things have changed a lot - but the Alamo Inn does an outstanding job of capturing the feel of that era. The neighborhood, the proximity to natural areas like Santa Ana NWR, and the attention to detail and congeniality of the owner and host, Keith Hackland, make staying here a great way to shed the stresses of everyday life. We look forward to returning many times in the future!

Bryan & Vicky

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in one of the apartments, which we found to be charmingly furnished with everything we needed for our comfort. Lesser nighthawks nested on our roof. The Alamo Inn's convenient location made our day trips manageable and fun, and with the help of our gracious and bird-knowledgeable host we maximized the number of species we could see this time of year in the LRGV. We feel we got tremendous value for our vacation dollar by staying at the Alamo Inn. We highly recommend Alamo Inn to birders, and we're looking forward to staying there again when we return to The Valley.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryan, texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Keith is super-wonderful in providing a fantastic stay for a very reasonable price. Alamo Inn is minutes away from some of the best birding in the U.S., hands down. Staying at the inn felt like being "home away from home" as all the amenities I could have asked for were provided. I give this five stars and look forward to returning to the Alamo Inn and Alamo, Texas overall!
Thanks Keith!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Inn

Address: 801 Main Street, Alamo, TX 78516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Alamo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging for birders and other travelers in clean comfortable suites furnished with antiques and run by a caring host who is a knowledgeable area birder. Facilities include self serve breakfast, meeting room, birding & outdoor store, working artist's studio, free WIFI, free guest computer, and other free extras including area bird and butterfly maps and check lists. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.