We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Abilene

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Abilene to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Abilene
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1802 East Overland Trail, Abilene, TX 79601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Abilene
Austin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was one of those stops you make while travelling, and you may never be back again, but this HIE location was a good one. Clean, cheerful staff, good breakfast. Main reason for staying was the pet policy. A little unusual that pet rooms were on top floor and that means elevator trips for your pet. Was not a big deal for us but may be to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
6
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
houston, tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We spent three days here during a stressful wedding! The staff and facilities are wonderful! We would definitely return!!!

Room Tip: large, clean, comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilbert, az
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Safe area, nice room, clean property. Staff friendly. Breakfast is standard for HIE but still was good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I was so frustrated trying to get work done with a poor connection. The rest of the stay was typical HI Express. The staff was nice and the outdoor pool was about twice the size of what is normal for a Holiday Inn Express. Breakfast was right off the standard formula for this chain. So if you don't need internet this one is ok, but if you need a good connection my advice is go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOKE ON TRENT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Booked this hotel as part of our ‘road trip’ across the USA and very glad we did. The hotel and its staff are warm and friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and you will get a good night’s sleep
The breakfast sets you up for the day and its location to the freeway is good. Stay here and you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Good location for business traveler staying downtown, closer to restaurants; however, kind of hard to find.... behind another major hotel, but i always feel more "home" at Holiday Inn and like their points too ! Rooms very roomy and service good. for me, these hotels always dependable if i'm on business. Fast internet connections too.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I was driving cross country and this was on my stretch from Phoenix AZ to Dallas TX and I didn't wanna stop but my dad called and reserved my bf and I a room here and I was like oh great a roadside hotel this is gonna be dirty and a bad idea. But when I got there I was amazed. Very good service (especially for arriving so late at night) The air conditioner was great considering it was august in Texas lol and what really won me over here was the bed. It was so comfortable that I am currently looking for what brand it was so I can buy one!!! I've stayed in a lot of hotels (including the four seasons) and this one is pretty up there. And if you stay there, get the complimentary breakfast! You will not regret it omg it was soooooo delicious : ) Plus there is a 24/7 Jack in the box within walking distance, I thought it was nice because I was on the road and hadn't eaten in a while. Definitely a great place to stay and if I were to ever drive thru Abilene again I would say there over anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Abilene

Address: 1802 East Overland Trail, Abilene, TX 79601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Abilene
#9 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Abilene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to Abilene for business or pleasure let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your home away from home. Conveniently located off I-20 we are the choice of travelers to Abilene Christian University (ACU) and Hardin-Simmons University (HSU). We offer you trouble free high-speed Internet access, comfortable pillow top beds and plush towels in our 300 sq. ft. rooms. If you need a little more space we also have 350 sq. ft. suites to make your stay that much more enjoyable. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Abilene gives you ease of access to all the major attractions in Abilene like Frontier Texas, Taylor County Expo Center, West Texas Fairgrounds, Civic Center, Abilene Zoo, Shotwell Stadium, Paramount Theatre, 12th Armored Division Memorial Museum, Dyess AFB, Bus Station and downtown Abilene. Our location also places you near major companies such as, Region 14 Coca-Cola, the USPS Distribution Center, and the Worlds Largest Wind Farm. When it is time to start your day come and enjoy our deluxe hot Continental breakfast with a varied menu that can offer anything from cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs to lighter fare such as assorted yogurt and muffins. We know it will be a great start to your day. Come and relax with family we would love to have you and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Abilene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abilene Hotel Abilene
Holiday Inn Abilene
Abilene Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Abilene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.