We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE WORSE EVER!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Inn Expo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Inn Expo to your Saves list
Emerald Inn Expo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   840 East US Highway 80, Abilene, TX 79601 (Formerly Whitten Inn Expo Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Abilene
Smyer, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“THE WORSE EVER!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed at the property for years for business and when we attend The West Texas Fair and Rodeo.We could not believe how this place has went down hill. First we arrived late Friday night and it took 50 Minutes to get checked in, there were 3 people ahead of us, who also by the way were giving out phone numbers to other hotels in the area, as people cae in the door. At least 4 couples and families left or got a refund then left after seeing the rooms.. The room key would not work, so I had to walk back to the office 3 times fearing for my life with all the thugs up and about at 1AM. Never Stay Here with Children, it is just too dangerous. The rooms are dirty and run down.The free cooked to order break fast that the video brags about is a joke and does not exist, its just stale cereal, hot milk, rubber waffles and filth every where. We know why Larry and Mary Ann have that smug smile on their faces as they know how they Love Stealing Your Money. We Will NEVER stay here again and advise all our buddies to stay away. The Lady operating the front desk was new and to her defense was trying so hard, but she was not properly trained and kept calling another employee for help, who finally quit taking her calls. JUST A HORRIBLE NIGHTMARE! LARRY AND MARY ANN ARE THE JESSE JAMES OF MOTELS

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash P, Director of Sales at Emerald Inn Expo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We do apologize for the experience you had with your keys, sometimes this is an unfortunate event that we can not foresee. We do our best especially late at night when maintenance staff is not available. As far as you saying that guest were given information to other hotels, the only time this happens is, if we are full or do not have the room type the guests are looking for. We have checked our records several times to find out whom might have checked out because of issues with rooms but we were unable to find anyone. This property sold in January of this year and is no longer affiliated with Mr. Whitten and his wife. We no longer carry the hot breakfast, due to it was closed before the sale of the hotel, but we have diligently being looking for someone to lease out the restaurant area so that we may once again, offer the hot breakfast that everyone so loved. In the coming months all guest will see the improvements that are slated to happen, and we encourage you and all other guests to continue to stay with us, and see for yourselves.



Karen Goff
Sales Manager
Whitten Inn Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    7
    2
    12
See reviews for
5
2
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great old style motor inn that is cean, reasonably priced, convenient parking to your room. Outdoor pool was nice and clean. Stay in hotels 100 nights a year and I would rank this very high for value for your dollar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

First of all don't be fooled by their advertisement of a "deluxe breakfast bar"; It barely qualifies as a continental breakfast. The furniture was decent, The room itself is dated, but looks like it was painted in the last year. The staff were all very nice to me. The towels were flimsy and you only get two sets. The air conditioner was slow to cool the room, but once it did, it was fine. The refrigerator is very tiny and also slow to cool. One cockroach in my shower this morning. At least it was downstairs and I could park right by the door. It wasn't bad, but I was glad I only paid $70 a night through expedia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

One staff member out of many were respectful. The owner/manager/maintenance man is rude, disrespectful and has no common sense let alone any sense at all. The rooms smell like cigarettes dispite the "no smoking" signs on doors. A/c worked when convientant, spider webs, live large roaches, and don't bother leaving your towels down to receive more, you won't get them. Maybe it had something to do with the owner/manager/....being in laundry working and not able to come settle customer needs and complaints! The pool is the cleanest thing here, but it's closed. Don't go by their website information, there is no restaurant or cooked to order meals, it's cereal, waffle, Danish, or apples! I do not normally stay in motels, I stay in hotels, but this was set up through my job, I still had to pay $67 due to a mistake made when it was reserved (I didn't reserve it) yet they are refusing to give me my $ back and bill the company responsible. Shame on me for paying cash and not with my credit card. One excuse after another with these people.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash P, Director of Sales at Emerald Inn Expo, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are very sorry this guest needed to write this unappealing review, due to an error that was not ours. We offer several companies the option to direct bill with us, in turn we ask that they reserve the rooms with specific instructions so that we can insure everything is just as they would like it to be. There was confusion between the guest and the company booking manager as to how this room was to be handled. We followed the company’s initial instructions, which ended up being changed the day after the guest’s arrival. Although we felt that the issue was between the employee and company we did decide to refund the guest the amount they paid. We feel we did our best to handle the guest and the situation. We have had a few rooms that after the little rain we have received here bring out water roaches, we have already contacted several places to find the best way to remedy this problem. We have formally apologized to the guest and felt we had done our due diligence in trying to resolve the problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

They appeared to be very short staffed. The room overall was shabby - everything (except the TV) was old and worn. The AC did work, but you could see down into the unit and it was filthy - caked with hair and dirt, etc. The carpet was also extremely dirty.....not that the sweeper hadn't been run, but just walking around in dark pink sox turned the dark pink to black. The toilet never flushed properly - took two or three tries every time - while you held your breath wondering if it would overflow. Both beds were rock hard - there were no blankets, just the top sheet and the bedspread. The linings on the bottom of the mattresses were torn and hung down on the floor. There were two of us staying in the room - booked for 3 nights. When we arrived there were 3 towels and 3 washclothes in the bathroom. When we needed additional towels and washclothes, we were told they were 'out'. And absolutely no apology was given nor was any attempt ever made to provide more. There's a bar/lounge on the property - it's very noisy. We were quoted one price per night and then charged a higher price. We won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Take your own towels and washclothes - and maybe blankets! Stay in a room as far away from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

i recently stayed at the Whitten Inn Expo for the last week . i would like to throw out the many pros this hotel has to offer. The staff was wonderfull. The lounge was a good enviroment to wind down each evening and the location was perfect for each event i needed to attend. great rates and friendly faces is exactly what i like to see in a hotel. Housekeeping was great, never missed a beat. Over all i am very pleased with my visit and will always stay at the Whitten Inn Expo when i return to Abilene!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Inn Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Inn Expo

Address: 840 East US Highway 80, Abilene, TX 79601 (Formerly Whitten Inn Expo Center)
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Emerald Inn Expo 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Emerald Inn Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel Expo Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Inn Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.