We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, comfortable Comfort Suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites University to your Saves list
Comfort Suites University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1902 East I-20, Abilene, TX 79601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Abilene
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good, clean, comfortable Comfort Suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

First off, this is a nicely appointed Comfort Suites brand hotel. It's relatively new, rooms are decent, and are typical of most Choice Hotel properties these days. I found the hotel, and property as a whole to be clean and well kept. There are signs of some physical aging on the building/rooms, i.e. noticed some mildew build up in the shower/bath around the tub rim; carpet is showing visible stains; scuff marks on walls; etc... However, these are pretty minimal things, and only the most observant traveler (or anal person) would notice or recognize! Not sure this property deserves all the accolades bestowed on it by fellow TA members below, but most undoubtedly a great hotel for the location and price. Breakfast is again typical Choice Hotel continental fair, nothing to write home about, but edible. A "manager's reception" in the evenings would be a nice touch for the road weary. Staff was fantastically friendly though, and deserves high marks for their cordialness. All-in-all, would most definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
15
4
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

After staying at several hotels in the area, this is our favorite. ACU is approximately 5 mins. away and HSU probably 10 mins. away.

Have stayed here more than any other hotel in Abilene. Service is great, rooms exceptional, location is next to Cracker Barrel, Dairy Queen, Walmart.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We spent 3 nights here while taking our daughter to ACU. It's 3 minutes from the campus which is very convenient. The hotel seems clean and the front desk staff is very friendly. They put out cookies in the evening for people to grab. There had been a bad leak in our ceiling which looked like it had not been properly repaired, but the hotel was booked that weekend and they may not have had time to repair it. The breakfast is not spectacular, but not bad either. Our biggest complaint was the weak coffee that looked more like tea all three days. We would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Had an overnight stay here with my mom, who was in town for a medical procedure. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, making the extra effort to get us into our room as soon as possible and checking multiple times to make sure she was comfortable. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, and breakfast offered a good selection. Location is within a mile or two of ACU and HSU, and much of the city's medical facilities as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We absolutley loved staying here! We came to abilene for a vacation and from when we checked in to when we checked out was the best exprience ever! Check in time was fast and room was ready for an early check in! Frontdesk was very professional and very knowledgeable about the hotel and places to visit here! General Manager was at hotel everyday we were there and we appriciated the accomadations from her! The room was very spacious as we have 3 kids and roomy too!:) The Hotel still looks as of it barely opened. We loved the indoor pool it was well up to our standard very clean! Everyday we went down for breakfast it was hot and the set up was very convient for us and the attandent was very nice and always smiled kept the place very clean and stocked at all times seeing as it was very busy! GOOD JOB! We will continue to visit here when we come to town! BEST HOTEL EVER! We wouldnt stay any where else

Room Tip: The hotel offers really great discounts for TRIPLE A MEMBERS !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stay at a lot of Comfort Suites because of the rewards program. This particular site is a cut above the rest at a great price. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the room comfortable and clean. The bed was exceedingly comfortable, and the HD flat screen TV was a treat. Great WIFI was easy to use. The breakfast, served in a comfortable dining room, included blueberry waffles, eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, fruit, muffins, sweet rolls, cereal, yogurt, etc. and great coffee. The site was very close to Abilene Christian and Hardin Simmons Universities. Also close by: a Chili's, Cracker Barrel, DQ, and McD restaurants. We will stay there again any time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Huge rooms. Great for large groups or family lounging. Quality, comfortable beds. Exceptionally clean with great service. Overall wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Address: 1902 East I-20, Abilene, TX 79601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Abilene
#8 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abilene Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.