We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Membership a bonus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abilene Zoo

Abilene Zoo
2070 Zoo Lane, Nelson Park, Abilene, TX 79602
325-673-WILD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Abilene
Attraction details
Abilene, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Membership a bonus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Abilene Zoo is always bringing in new exhibits. It is small enough to walk around without becoming tired. My grandchildren love to come and feed the giraffes, ride the train, feed the fish and ducks, so I bought a membership which allows unlimited visits to the zoo and even to some special events. It paid for itself in the first two weeks and the membership is good for discounted adissions at other zoos.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    56
    17
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best small town Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I havn't visited the Zoo since the last remodel, but I heard its great. It is the best small zoo inTexas. All displays are user friendly, very close to the animals. Its very clean and smells good, unlike the Ft worth Zoo that's in a hole and stinks. The City of Abilene just built a slash park thats free and right beside the Zoo, twice the fun and a hot summer day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Abilene Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great smaller zoo that is very clean and will kept with a lot of freedom to wonder. Great parking area with a play area for kids and two large dog walk and let loose areas for those of you having pets. Very pet friendly area right outside of Zoo. A walk around the lake area outside of zoo. There is even a small water park for kids. The food is reasonably priced as well if you chose to eat at the Zoo. You can make this an all day event for your family if desire to.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“VERY NICE ZOO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have a membership to the zoo and go several times a year. Next year our first grandchild will be here so I'm sure we will be visiting alot more. They are always updating but Its never inconvenient to walk through. Parking is great. And dont forget to feed the gigantic fish in the lake from the dock on the zoo side. The kids will love it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting for a small-town Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I hadn't visited the Abilene Zoo for over 10 years and was pleasantly surprised to see the improvements they have made over the years. Lots of informative exhibits and especially interesting for kids under 8 years of age.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abilene Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Abilene Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abilene Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.