We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Italy

Little Italy
1417 S Danville, Abilene, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 217 restaurants in Abilene
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Pleasant Atmosphere and reasonable prices
Restaurant details
Description: Pleasant Atmosphere and reasonable prices
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Little Italy is not overly fancy but the food is delicious (try the lasange) and we always leave full and satisfied. The bread is good wth a unique and delicious olive oil-butter and herb dipping sauce. The salad bar is minimal but the house dressing is very good.

The gentleman who plays guitar on weekends makes for great atmosphere.

One of the best things about Little Italy is the service. We are there almost weekly and we always feel like family!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    20
    13
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Friday night eight thirty busy and a wait, but well worth it! Best $35.00 meals including two glasses of wine and tip we have had in years! Salad dressing wonderful and the best meatball sub I have had since New York! A nice little table partitioned off with fantastic live music to set a romantic mood! Way to go Little Italy in Abilene, TX!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Average at best Italian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

While traveling, we stopped at this restaurant based on its TA rating, but surprisingly it was not more than an average place to eat. It was a Sunday afternoon, around 1:30 PM and the place was empty. We sat right down and our drink order was placed.

We looked over the menu and asked for a recommendation. The waitstaff simply repeated almost the entire menu back to us as what was really good to eat. Not much help there. While we considered our choices, we were brought some very tasty bread, oil and garlic. The oil and garlic was very tasty, with some red pepper which added just a little heat. A nice little touch, I thought. The bread was homemade and very good, served nice and hot.

After looking at the menu some more, we tried a couple of different dishes, while the kids ate pizza. My wife tried the Tortellini Alla Panna w/pink sauce and chicken, while I tried the Pasta Sampler Lasagne, manicotti, and baked ziti. Neither of these dishes was great, but were ok. Having traveled to Italy before, our tastes for pasta has changed over time and we are probably considered "very picky" when it comes to the sauces. Mine was a traditional red sauce, but the flavor was not what I prefer. I like the lasagne, and the manicotti was ok, but the ziti was nothing to write home about. Very average.

My wife's dish was not very pleasing to her either, as she comment to me that she makes this much better at home. Perhaps it is just as simple as what we like from eating at home, or perhaps it just was an average dish.

Either way, we will probably not make a repeat trip here for lunch or dinner, unless there are no other choices. The final straw as the price. It cost us over $50 for our family of five to eat. Not that does not seem high, but when the kids are all eating a simple personal pizza, I would have expected it to be a little less. Not a great value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go0d atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

would have been higher but my wife did not like her food. I got the chicken parmasan and it was very good. This resturante felt very eurpoean in atmosphere. She gat the viel parmasane and i think it was too greasy for here. Overall good food and more authentic than Olive Garden or Carrino's

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big Portions and good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Love the food here. Chicken Rollatini and Lasagna and Ziti with chicken and broccoli. I could go on and on. They bring you butter stuff instead of olive oil with homemade bread. Kind of addictive

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Italy also viewed

 

Been to Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.