We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel,Shame for the pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Abilene to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3010 CatClaw Drive & South Clack St, Abilene, TX 79606   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 36 hotels in Abilene
Antwerpen, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel,Shame for the pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

It's a beautiful place and exterior as interior looks very nice and new.
Room is very nice and cosi ,lovely decorated.
Bathroom also perfect with very good showerhead.
Breakfast also ok , but nothing special.
But then they lose points with the pool.
What a disaster!!! The pool is very cold ,full with sand and stinks.The outside Spa is GREEN,discusting.The inside Spa didn't work.
What a shame,get this fixed and you'll probebly have the best value for money hotel in Abilene.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingatebyWyndham1, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Abilene, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
I'm very sorry that our pool was not up to it's regular standards. The city of Abilene usually closes all of the pools right after Labor Day. Due to the unusal cold and warm temperatures we were in the process of closing our pool for the season when you came to stay with us. Once again I'm very sorry that you had to see our pool not in it's superb glory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    44
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
77
28
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at several hotels in the area. Found the one what will be my hotel of chioce for all my future business travels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUSTANG
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We enjoyed ourselve. Great place to stay. My son really loved the breakfast. He enjoyed the waffle maker.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at the Wingate in Abilene for the first time. The lobby and staff were very impressive and made us feel we had made the right choice in hotels. We only stayed one night but it was nice. When we arrived in our suite it was extremely hot. The A/C was not on. The living room cooled nicely but the bedroom was hovering around 90degrees. We called the front desk and Zach came to our room within minutes and fixed the unit. He stayed until he was sure the room was cooling down. We were pleased with how prompt and thorough Zach was. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spotless and the service was great. Thanks Wingate for a good night's rest. I'll recommend you to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallsville, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hi we are from East Texas and every Labor Day weekend we travel to West Texas to go bird hunting as well as other times thru out the year due to family there.. in the past we have stayed at several different hotels... but for the last couple of years now we have stayed at your Wingate in Abilene Texas.. we usually get anywhere from 3-6 rooms when we come.. i would just like to let you know the staff at this hotel is one of the best we have encountered... Marty the manager always is happy to accomadate us in whatever we need..my mother requires the handicap room and she just loves it... the staff are all so nice and friendly and because of this is why we will continue to use the Wingate whenever we travel to Abilene Texas..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Abilene Hotel
Wingate By Wyndham Abilene Hotel Abilene
Address: 3010 CatClaw Drive & South Clack St, Abilene, TX 79606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Abilene
#9 Family Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Abilene 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is what we look like from the outside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Abilene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.