We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice property with lots of shopping and eateries close by.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Abilene to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3010 CatClaw Drive & South Clack St, Abilene, TX 79606   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Abilene
Abilene, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice property with lots of shopping and eateries close by.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the hotel twice. We are locals who like to have a getaway night from teenagers and pets. The first stay was wonderful. It was about a year ago and we had a corner suite on the top floor (3 floors) with a separate living/dining room, whirlpool tub, and king-sized bed. Beds are very comfortable. They give a good discount to people affliated with the local universities. Continential breakfast with hot waffles is included.

The second stay was about three weeks ago. Not as great of an experience. I used Hotwire.com to book a last minute room. Could have gotten a better price calling them directly but was expecting to end up at the McM Elegante, Residence Inn or Hilton Garden Inn based on the star rating I specified. Hotwire and Tripadvisor don't use the same scale. Three stars is as high as there is in Abilene and the Wingate is about a 2 1/2. The room had a king-sized bed with a loveseat, mini fridge and standard shower/tub combo. The hotel was full (rodeo in town). We heard some people stomping above our heads and in the halls but the worst part is that the person who checked us in charged us for the room after it was already paid for via Hotwire. Straightening it out has been a hassle.

Bottom line: A good place to stay if you have don't have noisy neighbors but be careful if you use a non-Wyndam website to book the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    63
    35
    24
    10
See reviews for
111
41
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

First class with warm, friendly and flexible owner and staff. We were a group with eight rooms. I have never used "trip advisor" but after a fabulous two night stay I felt compelled to provide this review. Rooms were very clean, great bedding, newly constructed and air conditioning was perfect. Most importantly, we had a group of twenty and the staff was very helpful with our unique needs. Also close to Walmart and Target.

Thank you!,,,,the Women's Soccer Team from California Lutheran University

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We arrived in Abilene with my college team to play games here locally. The first hotel we arrived at was a disaster and we were able to get out of it and we ended up at the WIngate. The price was reasonable and from the moment we walked in the staff was friendly and helpful. The GM Marti bent over backwards to make it a great stay. My players were so happy when the entered the rooms that they cheered. This will be the only hotel we stay at when we come to Abilene in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I must admit, I do like a clean room (doesn't have to be fancy). See my other reviews. I commend places on good quality and value. Well, I always check the beds. Maybe I shouldn't do this because I lost my appetite. Lots of hairs behind the bed and on the mattress cover. The room was dusty. I started to clean out the slots on the a/c because it was blowing dust. I switched rooms and found the same thing. When I told the owner that it was strange to have an envelope soliciting money from the maids, she argued with me and told me to stay at a place that accepted dogs (and I didn't have a pet with me on this trip). It was funny because I have never seen this before...plus, there was a blond hair next to the envelope (definitely not mine). Had to move to a different hotel which was not as new, but luckily had no hairs in the bed.

Room Tip: Check the beds before you sleep there (or if you don't care and you just hop into bed, this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Everything about this hotel is very nice. We have enjoyed both of our stays at this property and will return each time we need lodging in Abilene.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Here for a wedding. Not too bad. The staff was just nonchalant. I don't think some businesses realize that their staff can make all the difference in the world. They seemed very frustrated for whatever reason. Having a bad day? The room was SUPER nice. Priced about the norm. It's everything else that needs work. The hot tub was broken, 50 dollar deposit if you are paying cash, 5 dollar deposit PER TOWEL for the pool. We asked for an extra blanket "sorry don't have any". We asked for extra towels "Sorry, don't have any dry". Said they would bring some when they got dry but never came. It was very frustrating. The pool was nice and we all had a good time. I would stay here again just because the room was really nice and make sure I brought my own beach towels and blankets!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The room was nice--especially clean. However, I think the price point was too high for a typical nice room. Breakfast was standard that you seein most--nice selection. Hot tub area was closed for maintenance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Address: 3010 CatClaw Drive & South Clack St, Abilene, TX 79606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Abilene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is what we look like from the outside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Abilene Hotel Abilene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Abilene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.