We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cusick Road, Alcoa, TN 37701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Alcoa
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed here over new years weekend, and absolutely loved it! The hotel appeared to be pretty new and in good condition, the rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. Kent, the front desk clerk was absolutely delightful and extremely helpful. His friendly attitude and personable demeanor made our stay even better. The other clerk, however, some young guy who was rude, didn't wear a name tag and was overall unprofessional. He had visitors who sat on the check-in counter while guests were around and needed help. He seemed irritated when asked him questions. Aside from him (the minor damper in our trip and stay), i really loved this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
11
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I travel a lot, about 160 nights out a year. After suffering from all kinds of disappointments and lessons learned on overnight stays I am extremely picky and critical of hotels. I expect a lot in value and safety. That said, whenever I am in the Knoxville area this hotel is my first choice even though it is a few miles outside of the Knoxville city limits. The rooms are wonderfully spacious, modern, and very clean. The staff is super helpful and courteous. It is quiet and safe too. The exercise room has new equipment that works! Good restaurants are nearby. This hotel and staff is first rate. Stay here and be satisfied for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011 via mobile

Loved staying here. Beds super comfy roomy. There's no breakfast but for the dif in price who cares. Thers a full kitchen. Also a starbucks right across the street and zillions of fast food and rest within seconds They don't change towels every day but just ask. Theres a great gym. Free laundry. Very friendly. Only reason I gave 4 stars for cleanliness was a candy wrapper under the night stand. Otherwise spotless
The only real negative is trying to cross 129 but there is a safer way if u ask. Stayed at several others and this is good especially for price

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stayed here to visit a loved one at a nearby facility. The rate was reduced which made it nice. The room was huge and bathroom was too. The second night was a little noisy though because the people on the 2nd must have been herding cattle or something. I just cranked up the ac and let it drain the noise out. Pillows are very soft and smushy, so I had to use three just so they wouldnt sink.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

In short, hotels like this are the reason you read trip advisor reviews. It was a good (great?) value and very clean. If you're staying for an extended length of time for business, I would recommend it even more - the kitchen in the room was well appointed and everything was clean and new. We were in town with family over the holidays, and Candlewood worked out great for us - we stay relatively often (2-3x/year) in the area and this is where we'll look to book from now on. Better than Hilton at the airport and way better than the Mainstay Suites on down the road. Highly recommended. Note - the location is what it is - close to the airport. If you're going to be going downtown you might want to look there first.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We recently stayed at this motel during a big snow storm at our mountain house and had to stay in town. Candlewood Suites is a new place tucked away from the noise of Alcoa Highway and the airport, though convenient to both. All the rooms are suites and are suited to extended stays. Our room had a refrigerator w/ice maker, two-burner cooktop, a full-size dishwasher, and a small microwave. The kitchenette had modern cabinetry and granite countertops. The flooring at the kitchen area was laminate that looked like hardwood. There were a few plates, silverware, glasses, and cooking utensils along with pots and pans. Someone could stay at this place for a while and easily do some light cooking.

There was a desk area and a flat-panel modern TV in the room. Free wireless Internet was available and was quite fast.

The bathroom was very nice and had enough shelving for toiletries. The counters were granite and the floor was tile. The shower had good water pressure.

The bed was comfortable and the linens were soft and nice. The bed section of the suite had carpet on the floor around the bed.

The only big negative for me is that they allow small pets. That may be why I sneezed and coughed at night quite a bit, despite using antihistamines and a nasal steroid spray. I suspect a previous guest let a small animal sleep in that bed. I have bad allergies so I wasn't too happy about seeing (and hearing) pets nearby and wonder why it's allowed. It might be because of the motel being extended-stay, but I very much dislike pets being allowed in motels.

Another thing I should mention is there isn't much of a breakfast available. There was some fruit juice on a counter in the lobby along with granola bars and small yogurts, and that was pretty much it. There is a section in the lobby where coffee is available, and different foods are also available for sale there. However, there are lots of restaurants and fast-food places nearby, including a Starbucks just down the road.

Being extended-stay, the housekeeping doesn't come in every day and collect towels and make the beds; they only come in once during mid-week to change out the towels. However, if you want the suite cleaned, all you have to do is tell the front desk and they will arrange it. Also, if you want clean towels without maid service, you can simply take your dirty towels to the front desk and exchange them for clean ones.

Overall a very nice place, and the price is extremely reasonable considering you don't get the daily maid service and a big breakfast. But be aware that if you have allergies to pets, you might have trouble sleeping, as I did.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Travelling through Tennessee, we were attending a match of the Vols. Despite the fact that the hotels and motels were almost fully booked in the area, the rate at Candlewood was very reasonable.

Don't let the fact that they are a bit 'back' from the road scare you: this motel has everything that you need for a very reasonable price. Our room (and I think all) had a kitchenette, fully equiped, a great bed, clean bath/shower area and a huge tv.

During the gameday, we used the aranged bus to get to and from the Neyland stadium, which was an excellent service for some extra dollars. This is one of the things that made the stay at Candlewood a great stay.

When in Alcoa: don't look any further, just stay there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa

Address: 176 Cusick Road, Alcoa, TN 37701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Alcoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Alcoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Extended Stay Hotel in Alcoa, TN Searching for a relaxing setting in the Appalachian Mountains with a convenient location near downtown Knoxville? Then look no further than the Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Alcoa - Knoxville Airport. Our hotel's amenities include a free shuttle to McGhee Tyson International Airport TYS, also known as the Knoxville Airport. Our hotel's guests enjoy a variety of attractions, from seeing a game at UT's Neyland Stadium to a movie at the Palace Theater and Espresso Bar. For some outdoor fun, try a round of golf at the Pine Lakes Golf Course or a picnic at the Springbrook Park & Duck Pond, the largest park in Alcoa. Our hotel's location is also convenient to the Air National Guard, Alcoa Aluminum, Denso, Coca Cola Bottling Co, Kimberly Clark, the University of Tennessee and other businesses in downtown Knoxville. Business travelers can work efficiently in the 24-hour business center or at each suite's over-sized desk with a speaker phone and free high-speed Internet access. We go beyond other extended stay Alcoa, TN hotels to offer you great amenities, like free laundry facilities, a relaxing pool and a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable bedding, a 32in TV with a DVD player and a large workspace with free Internet access. A suite awaits you at one of the best pet friendly Knoxville airport hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa Hotel Alcoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.