We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a Marriott property” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn and Suites Knoxville Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn and Suites Knoxville Airport to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn and Suites Knoxville Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Cusick Road, Alcoa, TN 37701 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Knoxville Alcoa/Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Alcoa
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a Marriott property”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I made a last-minute weekend trip to the Smokies, and I decided to stay at this location rather than paying high rates in Gatlinburg for the holiday weekend.

When I arrived, the gentleman working the counter was very friendly and helpful. The check-in process was quick and easy. When I got to the room is when things started going downhill.

First thing I noticed was the old fixtures in the tub/shower. It had one of the drain stops you push down into the drain; however, it was broken - and the piece was sitting outside the shower on the floor.

I attempted to log on to the free wi-fi. After about five minutes of multiple log-ins, it connected. Two minutes later, it went out - and it would not re-connect the rest of the night. Same thing happened with the wireless the next night.

I intended to get up early and head out into the park. I noticed that I could not set the alarm clock because any time I touched the clock, the lamp on the same night stand went out (both plugged into the same outlet, which clearly has a short). Luckily, my phone has an alarm. Sure enough, when I woke up Saturday morning, the alarm clock in the room was blank.

This place seemed busy, but I was not impressed. Next time, I'll pay the extra money and stay in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    49
    9
    10
    3
See reviews for
78
31
17
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this location on our motorcycle vacation. We parked our Harley close to the front door on the advice of the desk clerk. The next morning we were about to leave when I noticed someone had laid a cigar on the new seat I purchased less than 18 hours ago. We notified the desk and the manager filled out a report.
We stay in Marriott hotels at least 60 times a year. I will never stay in another Fairfield

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

It is rare to find a good hotel for under $100. Room was clean, the staff was friendly and courteous & honest. My son left an ipod touch in the hotel room when we checked out. The maid found it, turned it in, and they sent me the ipod touch in the mail! I asked the person at the desk about where to take the family to eat, they recommended Calhoun's (which ended up being a great call). I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Not happy with the service. Front Desk was not well mannered.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This a a nice, clean Fairfield on a road with a few other hotels right off a fairly busy road/highway (somewhat limited access). It's a good distance from Knoxville, but since it is directly across from the airport I guess it is still considered a Knoxville suburb.
While I was pleased with the hotel, for future visits to the area, I will likely try to stay a bit closer in.
I can only comment on our room because I do not know if the other rooms are similar, but the beds are the softest I have ever slept on. Whether that is good or bad is a personal preference.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Imagine you are tired after driving for hours and look forward to getting to bed. You check in and are given a room the furthest away from the elevator...I was using points for my stay. Upon entering room you hear smoke alarm beeping. You call clerk and get another room...right next door...and then walk in to hear the same beeping from smoke alarm. You call clerk again and get another key for another room. On the third attempt you get a quiet room! Not a great way to getting a good night's sleep. The rest of the stay was fine and the room was fine. The third room I got had a fairly new air conditioner compared to the old units in the first two. The pool, gym, and breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: don't take the end room on a floor as they are the least used
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hotel is convenient to the airport. It is a basic hotel. I have not stayed at any other Fairfield so cannot compare. I have stayed at this one twice to get the megabonus Marriott is running. I would not stay there if I didn't need a couple of stays for the bonus. It seems clean enough, but it just doesn't feel "comfortable". A couple of things that I didn't like, the hotel does not leave your bill under your door. You have to go to the front desk to check out and get a copy of your bill. And, I noticed on both visits, the staff uses old rags to prop open storage or employee's only doors. That did not give me an overall good impression of the hotel. The HIlton is definitely far and above in appearance and quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn and Suites Knoxville Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn and Suites Knoxville Airport

Address: 126 Cusick Road, Alcoa, TN 37701 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Knoxville Alcoa/Airport)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Alcoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Alcoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn and Suites Knoxville Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn and Suites Knoxville Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Knoxville Alcoa/Airport Hotel Alcoa
Fairfield Inn Alcoa
Fairfield Alcoa
Alcoa Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn and Suites Knoxville Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.