We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service; pool too hot-not enjoyable at all for adults” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 8th Ave NW, Aberdeen, SD 57401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Aberdeen
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service; pool too hot-not enjoyable at all for adults”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times however, with this being the second time that the exact same poor rude customer service and pool issues have happened, I just won't keep my mouth shut, it's unacceptable. There are plenty of rather nice, updated and pleasant hotels in Aberdeen to stay at. First, the pool area has been remodeled to an area that would appeal to children only with a lot of unused space for adults to sit and watch if they don't die of heat stroke and dehydration first. The only way for an adult to enjoy this area is if they have very small children they want to be in the pool with. Don't count on the hotels' staff to accommodate you in any way if you need it at the pool or otherwise. If you try to cool down by opening the door you will get threatened by their highly trained security guard that they will shut down the pool. Maybe he should stand in the pool area to monitor and see how long before he passes out. you know its bad when its hotter inside the pool area than outside in SD in August. (the first time was in the winter and it was the same way-we opened the door even though it was 20 outside). This really needs to be addressed. You know the saying, "The customer is always right", well not at this hotel. When I told the front desk that the vending machine had taken our money twice...after the machine actually did work once, she treated me like I was lying to her about $2.25. I was trying to inform her of this incase it happened to others. Also beware of the staff in the restaurant our winter stay equated to eroneous charges on our drink/dinner bill and this past stay equated to poor service and being charged for olives for our drink we ordered which took 15 minutes to get. Again have stayed here many times over and have enjoyed ballroom facilities for various business meetings. It's becoming more and more of a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you for taking the time and letting us know of your stay. I want you to know we are taking your comments very seriously and we will get the problems fixed. There is no room at our facility for rude/poor customer service. We are looking at way to make our pool facility cooler and more adult friendly. Thank you for your imput.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
9
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Mills, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting Aberdeen. The location is good if you are visiting Storybookland/Land of Oz/Wylie Park, which are just up the road. The hotel was quiet and clean. There did not seem to be a lot of people there at the time. My daughter enjoyed the water park. The hotel's restaurant, Minerva's, was good - we had dinner there one evening. Rooms are what you would expect at a Best Western. The free wi-fi worked very well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2010
Thank you so much for the review. We strive to make everyone's stay enjoyable. I am glad we could help in making your vacation to Aberdeen successful. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakotas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

The Best Western Ramkota was a great place to stay. There is a new indoor pool/playland coming soon and a fabulous restaurant open daily. The sleeping rooms were clean and spacious. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manger at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2008
Thank you for sharing your experience at our property. We are very proud of our new water play land and think it will only enhance our property. Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

This property is supposedly one of the better ones in the area. It seems to be an older one that had some updating several years ago. It could use some updating again. The bathroom fixtures were in poor condition. The shower heads apparently were "massage" types but had the plastic parts removed and they were covered in lime build up.
I stayed in one of the Business suites. It was huge with two floors, plenty of space for doing business or to allow a family to spread out. The bed upstairs was comfortable.
The real negatives: there was dust, dirt and candy wrappers (caked in dust) behind the dresser--this was noticed when I accidentally dropped something behind it; the hallways leading to the rooms reeks of cigarette smoke! Surprizingly the room which was classed as a smoking room did not smell too bad.

  • Liked — size of the room
  • Disliked — foul odor of cigarette smoke in the halls
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2008
Thank you for your input. Since the review was written we have remodeled our pool area into an indoor water play land which is wonderful for young kids. Other improvements we have made include, carpet and vinyl in our first floor hallways, remodeled our lobby bathrooms and recarpeted and vinyled 24 sleeping rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Address: 1400 8th Ave NW, Aberdeen, SD 57401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
154 room hotel with small town hospitality. Let our staff take care of your needs so you can relax and enjoy your trip. Award winning restaurant and lounge located within the building. New flat screen televisions and a indoor water playland that kids love. Let us be part of your next travel plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aberdeen
Aberdeen Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.