We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good good for Aberdeen” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Max & Erma's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Max & Erma's
715 North 10th Street, Aberdeen, SD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 66 restaurants in Aberdeen
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good good for Aberdeen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This was my fourth overnight stay on Aberdeen on the last 18 months and this besides the Guadalajara Mexican is the best the town has to offer

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    10
    13
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Max and Erma's is known for their hamburgers. I have also tried their ribs. Everything is good. This is a good place to take someone if you want to be safe in knowing you will have a good meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, SD
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have eaten at Max and Erma's many times, as a family, with friends, and as a large group.
The food has always been good, except for the asparagus. They seem to have a problem getting asparagus cooked evenly. The cookies are a special treat! Children love the sundae bar.
The servers and staff are friendly and work as a team. There are healthy options for choices of sides, including vegetables and fresh fruit!
The only time we really had a problem at Max and Erma's was when we had a large group. The only place they have for a group of more than 10 is to pull tables together in the middle of the restaurant, so it is not conducive to a group that wants to celebrate something or to just visit. They also messed up our cookie orders and we only realized later that we did not receive all the cookies that had been ordered.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expensive and over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Been here a couple times and was not impressed. Slow service for expensive food and the food is rather bland. I doubt this business will remain open to much longer. When I drive by they rarely have much business.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
“Great Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My father and I thought the burgers were outstanding. The atmosphere is very nice and the service was great!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max & Erma's also viewed

 

Been to Max & Erma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max & Erma's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.