We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Aberdeen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Aberdeen to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Aberdeen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3216 7th Ave. S.E, Aberdeen, SD 57401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Aberdeen
Bangalore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Nice hotel close to shops and restaurants in that area. It is just besides Holiday Inn Express. Nice cosy rooms and each room has LCD TV with internet. You can browse internet using TV if you don't have computer.
In house restaurant served limited breakfast, was ok. Has small indoor swimming pool and gym.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    37
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
46
25
4
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

-Nice Hotel and Clean - Lousy Front Desk
-Service – Lack customer service skills and should treat all the same way.
-Room – clean room and friendly housekeepers.
-Location Amenities – nice location and good free breakfast selection. Once or twice a week it was not ready by 6:45am. It should be ready at 6:00am.
-Like Best – room, exercise room and accessibility.
-Like Least – front desk put you on hold for more than 5 minutes and never return the calls. They have a bad attitude. Starting with both top managers. I was surprised that the younger/new employees have more friendly conduct and provided equal treatment to all. Better than their supposedly grown up leaders. Management needs Customer Service training fast, urgently. They share the same owner as the Holiday Inn Express, next door. They think they were making us a favor every time we ask for directions, mail or computer internet access code. We were paying and they have a job because we were there. Some individual’s complaint about not giving the government rate and the front management assumed without asking; that they were looking for a suite or special treatment. They were only trying to manage their federal taxes paid, the best they could, and after long working hours, not going out for to eat having a fridge and a microwave in a standard room. Some had to have one for their medicine, but they never mentioned it or management asked - just assumed. Others the Comfort Inn, the owner bought a small fridge 60 dollars and a small microwave for 40 dollars and had the person for more than 2 months. It’s better to have a person for 3-4 months at 70 dollars per night, than having one for 3 days @129.00-169.00 every 2 months. Too expensive for a small town. Need to learn the meaning of volume, value and excellence in customer service. Hilton personnel and a ghost customer’s service detective should pay a visit. Please, be careful if the person does not have blue or green eyes. I’m sure the owner is not aware of that. It is owned as a franchise.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Salem
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

I usually don't write reviews but since it is a hotel in a location that does not get many reviews I decided to write one. The hotel is new and in beautiful condition, rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed, we stayed in a queen suite. The price seems a bit spendy for a somewhat smaller city, but all hotels seem spendy this summer.

The common areas and hallways are in great shape. The exercise room is excellent with state of the art treadmills and free weights. Breakfast was very good a decent selection of both hot and cold items.

It is a hotel though that is suited towards the business person not so much the family. Pool area is small and the water was cold and I mean cold.

Front desk was well run and friendly, maid service was a bit shaky but might have just been our room, we had only one towel and one wash cloth with no shampoo in our room but the front desk quickly took care of the problem.

The free cookies in the lobby are tasty and the connection to the DEC dakota events center is handy I am sure for those attending conferences or weddings. I would stay here again in a heartbeat but only if on business or traveling by myself not much to do for the family.

We moved the second night of our stay next door to the Holiday Inn Express much more kid friendly. Check my review on the HIE.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

The Hampton Inn is quite new. It has been beautifully decorated and has an air of understated elegance. Our room was comfortable, quiet and spacious. We would definitely stay here again. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Aberdeen

Address: 3216 7th Ave. S.E, Aberdeen, SD 57401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Aberdeen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel which opened February 9, 2010. 84 room total. Hotel amenities include Hilton Honors Points, complimentary "On the House" Hot Breakfast, complimentary wireless throughout the hotel, complimentary coffee and tea all day, "on the go" breakfast bags, plenty of space to relax in our "perfect mix" lobby, indoor pool, fitness center, and the Hampton Inn 100% satisfaction guarantee! . Guestrooms are equipped with complimentary High Speed Internet , 37 inch flat screen HD TV's, Lap Desks, Ergonomic work stations, Cloud 9 bedding....you will have to stop by to see what the rest of the Hampton Inn & Suites of Aberdeen, SD has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Hampton Inn And Suites Aberdeen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Aberdeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.