We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Fair Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Murasaki at the Mall

Murasaki at the Mall
3131 N. Main St., Anderson, SC
8647600630
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 235 Restaurants in Anderson
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian fusion
Restaurant details
Anderson, SC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fair Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have visited this restaurant several times, usually with friends. We have never been disappointed with the food but the service is inconsistent. We've had very good service at times, but usually it is just so-so or not even that good. Today we all ordered soup first and then sushi. Two members of the party had their soup bowls cleared when the sushi arrived but the other two soup bowls remained on the table through the whole meal. My wife's soup bowl was still on the table along with her sushi plate when we left. Beverage refills were slow, too. There were very few customers but our server was out of sight most of the time.

In my opinion, this is a training issue that could easily be corrected. We'll still come back for the food and hope to be surprised by service that is consistent with the quality of the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Anderson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Same great food that you would get at the Greenville location, just not quite the personality from the servers/bartenders. The mussels are incredible, and the selection of rolls is extensive. The crab salad is to die for, but I'm not a fan of the wasabi dressing, instead I opted for the ponzu. Nice drink selection behind the bar. You have to be able to appreciate fresh, authentic sushi, not the redneck kind that has been served elsewhere in Anderson.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“quick bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

hot summer days ahead looking for lite lunches, the atmosphere was nice and cozy. however got this meal to go and didn't look before I left the location. So with that said it was my own error and I shall not complain.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Shopping Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Located in the Anderson Mall, this was our lunch choice on a shopping day. We went for lunch but dinner prices are in effect on Saturday and Sunday. I had sushi, the Lakeside roll. It was good but not great. My spouse had hibachi chicken with fried rice. Again, it was good enough but not memorable. So if you find yourself in Anderson Mall at lunch and want Japanese, go in with eyes open. You might be impressed and you might not. We were impressed with the service e and willing to give the food another try at some point.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Was hoping for much more....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Saw a write-up in the local Anderson newspaper on this restaurant... so we thought we would give it a try, as our friends and we really like great Sushi and Japanese food....

The ambiance was very adequate (still not sure why every restaurant thinks you must have big flat screen TVs everywhere??)

One of the appetizers we ordered was the Calamari. Well, it was pretty bad... very small pieces and very tough and rubbery. The other was dumplings, which were average. My wife and I had two different Sushi Rolls that we shared, again, not outstanding nor above average. Our friends had the Hibachi Dinner for Two... same story, not a winner.

The service was great and the price was on par with what we would expect, but the food, in general, was not anything that we would find ourselves going back to try again. Hopefully, things will improve and once we see any reviews getting better, we might head back and give them a second shot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murasaki at the Mall also viewed

 

Been to Murasaki at the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murasaki at the Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.