We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Peters Grill and Bar

J Peters Grill and Bar
202 S Main St, Anderson, SC 29624-1621
864-224-0040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 235 Restaurants in Anderson
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Service was good and food was better than average. Very large portions. Actually almost too large.
I would visit the restaurant again if I am in thea area

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    53
    27
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average, nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We go here occasionally, and I used to enjoy it. But I have come to realize that it is too loud and the food predominately fried entrees! The salads are one of the few healthy entrees, and they consist mostly of tasteless iceberg lettuce. And hope you aren't seated at the tables right at the entrance. They for some reason saw no reason to leave an area for those waiting for tables, so those seated at the front have either those waiting ogling your food or those seated are left staring at the rears of those waiting. Neither is a pleasant experience. On the good side is the crossiants, which are glazed with honey. The banana pudding dessert Is yummy, but large enough for 3-4 people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Grave disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

From out of town and had a long week of work in the area and my group wanted a really good meal at an American grill. Their website mad the restaurant sound like a perfect place. Waitress turned out to be terrible, inattentive most of the time and pushy at other times. We all got soup and they all were barely warm and the cheese dip was almost cold. Two of us got steaks, the premium ribeye was full of fat barely warm with almost no flavor. The fillet was a good cut, but almost cold and had no flavor. My desert selection was very good but be warned the portion size is extreme and wasteful, so if u get desert plan on sharing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

On a recent visit to Anderson, SC, we stopped at this joint for dinner. The food was average at this place. I had the fried flounder which was fairly good. However, I requested a baked potato instead of french fries....I was served flounder on top of a sea of fries anyway...yuck! I requested a glass of iced tea;never saw it. I requested a few extra slices of lemon for my fish...twice;I finally got it after practically tackling a wandering waiter. And they serve a kind of sweet bread (maybe honey dripped on it) with the salad....right on the salad! What is up with this?

The booth we were seated at shook with every passing waiter (loose floorboards I guess). And really, SC, get with the times. The smoke drifting across the divider (and I say that jokingly) drifted from the bar into my airspace effectively choking me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEWARE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Horrible place !!!!!!! Management could care less about there customers in fact if you complain the manager will come out and talk down to you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Peters Grill and Bar also viewed

 

Been to J Peters Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Peters Grill and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.