We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST THE BEST IN ANDERSON!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Peters Grill and Bar

J Peters Grill and Bar
202 S Main St, Anderson, SC 29624-1621
864-224-0040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 235 Restaurants in Anderson
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Concord, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“JUST THE BEST IN ANDERSON!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

i ate at the bar, good variety of draft and bottle beer and had the j peters salad - mixed greens, egg, bacon and grilled chicken breast. the chicken was great!, cooked so it was moist, not all dried out and there was a lot of it. second time i have eaten here, both times very good.
Note: smoking in the bar area/lounge is still allowed (it's SC, y'all) and if that will bother you the restaurant portion has no smoking allowed.
happy trails.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    53
    27
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Too much food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The cost of the food is a good deal, if you can eat it all in one sitting, which I can't. Every time I go (rare), I take food home. If there was half the food at half the price, it would be great. I just don't want to lug home a box with another full meal in it, especially if I wasn't going home in the first place. Leaving that much food behind is incredibly wasteful, and if I spent that much on a sandwich, it's getting eaten later.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca SC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Quick seating, outstanding menu and great food... reasonably priced, nice place for a night out. We ate a nice dinner then enjoyed Jazz on the Alley with a full belly!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love the Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is one of our favorite places to eat. The food is great. I always have enough left over for lunch the next day. They actually have two locations in Anderson-- food is the same but I like the downtown location better. Servers are always friendly and helpful-- food is always great and comes out hot! Great Steak-- chicken and ribs!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food good portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Food at J Peters is always good and portions are quite large. The Fish and Chips are a good example.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Peters Grill and Bar also viewed

 

Been to J Peters Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Peters Grill and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.