We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coach House Restaurant

Coach House Restaurant
127 East Shockley Ferry Road, Anderson, SC
864-225-0070
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 235 Restaurants in Anderson
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Anderson, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a great place to eat. The food is excellent, the service is good. Special orders not a problem. The crew makes it a great place to eat.The food is filling and you get a lot for the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Food But Classic Case of Portion Distortion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We (two couples) ate at the Coach House last Friday night before attending the Anderson Senior Follies at Anderson University. My husband and I had eaten here once before and wanting to avoid the chain restaurants on restaurant row, we decided to take our friends to the other side of Anderson. The food is excellent and all of the employees we encountered were very warm and friendly. But be forewarned. As is the trend of over the past 20 or so years, the Coach House is very guilty of "portion distortion". Two of us ordered the Friday chicken liver special, the others the fried flounder plate and the grilled pork chop plate. All four of us could have eaten off one plate and had a gracious plenty. The meals on each one of those plates could very well have contained an entire day's worth of calories. I suppose we could have shared plates (although there is a $2.50 "shared plate" charge) people don't always want to eat the same things. A better option would be for them offer a smaller portion for those who don't prefer their meals supersized.. As it was, our leftovers were left on the table to be discarded. Since we were more than 4 hours away from arriving at home where then could be refrigerated, we could not safely take them with us. Having said all that, yes, the Coach House has wonderful food. Just be prepared to share, take a cooler for leftovers or throw away the remains of the supersized portions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We drive from Belton almost every week just to dine at The Coach House.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have been eating at The Coach House on a regular basis for several years and we always enjoy the food and the nice, friendly atmosphere. When you are in this restaurant, you get the feeling there is a nice rapport between the owners and the staff. The owners are such wonderful, warm and welcoming individuals that we look forward to seeing them. They are genuinely concerned for their customers and we feel as though we are friends. The wait staff have always been kind and attentive to us and provide good service. The variety of different foods on their menu is excellent....from authentic Greek food to great southern cooking. We especially like their Gyro Platter, Beef Stew, Roast Pork dinner, Turkey and Dressing dinner, Greek lemon chicken soup, and several other dishes they serve. Their desserts are DELICIOUS! Their coconut cake, Boston cream pie, and sweet potato pie are amazing. You can tell they are made with caring and experienced hands. Their prices are reasonable and the owners show their appreciation to their customers by offering a free homemade cookie as you pay your bill. I wish I had one of those chocolate chip cookies now.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Not a fancy restaurant at all but they have a lot of variety and my favorite meal is the chicken stuffed with broccoli and served on rice. It's perfect every single time. Lots of butter but hey that's a good thing!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I eat at a LOT of restaurants. When all is said and done,The Coach House Restaurant is my favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This restaurant has had consistently good food each and every time I have been there, and I have been there a LOT! Now this is NOT one of those "fancy smancy" restaurants with crystal and silverware and linen napkins. What it is, is a clean and friendly neighborhood restaurant with food that will KNOCK YOUR SOCKS OFF! They call themselves a Greek restaurant, and they do have wonderful Greek recipes and the friendly owner is Greek, but they have a WHOLE LOT MORE! Their traditional Southern dishes are outstanding, they have a smothered chicken that is fabulous and Greek salads that are NOT diet food! Their desserts are wonderful, fresh and homemade. I cannot say enough about this place. It is my favorite restaurant bar none. And to top it off, when you go to pay your tab, you get a free homemade cookie or brownie. All of this at a price to make you ashamed they charged you so little for the outstanding meal you got.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Coach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.