We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Accommodations but Customer Service skills lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anderson/Clemson

Save Saved
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anderson/Clemson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anderson/Clemson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Electric City Blvd, Anderson, SC 29621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Anderson
Pine Hill, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Accommodations but Customer Service skills lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Upon arrival for a 3-day stay, check in was quick but when we entered our room, the bed was not made (4 p.m.). We were given another room. While in our room, on two separate occasions, another guest attempted to enter our room as the front desk had assigned them to our room somehow forgetting we were already assigned. In fact, on the second day, the hotel staff called our room and had to ask what our name was. I found this very annoying that they didn't have their reservations straight.

On the flip side, the hotel is very clean. The rooms were very clean (once done) and the salt water pool is small but nice (although pictured on the internet it appears to be a big pool). I'd pass on the continental breakfast. as well. The price was great considering the inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary t, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anderson/Clemson, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to our hotel, feedback of this nature is an invaluable tool in improving our service to our guests.

I apologize for the mix up in room assignments, and the inconvenience it caused you. The
staff member who first checked you in to a unfinished room, moved you physically to a new room,
but neglected to move you in the computer.

The staff member has caused several problems of this nature, but is no longer with the hotel.

Again, thank you for your comments, and once again, I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced.

Sincerely,
Gary Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    63
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
96
30
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here with extended family for Clemson graduation
Nice hotel.fairly new. Nice rooms. Attentive staff
Most of the hotels in the area jack up the rates for graduation and football weekend. Ive seen the days inn quote 250 for a 50 room. This hotel was very nice for a very reasonable rates

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary t, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anderson/Clemson, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank your for taking the time to post a review of our hotel, I appreciate the feedback, and
I look forward to serving you again, the next time your travels bring you back to the Anderson / Clemson area.

Sincerely,
Gary Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

It's the hospitality business... be nice! No one on staff here was impolite, or mean, but the guy (didn't catch his name) I kept seeing behind the desk seemed miserable.

We stayed for 4 nights. The bed was comfy, the room was clean.

I wish that there was better communication between the front desk and housekeeping. Our first morning, we were awoken at 9 am by someone wanting to clean the room. ???

Two mornings later, on our way out, I spotted the housekeeper in another room and asked her to specifically check our room. We had dirty towels and garbage to be taken, and the sheets needed cleaning (due to Anderson's "Smoking is okay in bars" policy). I gave her our room number, which was directly across the hall. She said "okay." The room did not get cleaned.

For our last night, we came home very late after the wedding (the reason we were there). We asked the front desk for a later check out; they granted it (1 pm, thank you). Guess who knocks at the door at 9 am? Housekeeping.

The continental breakfast was par for the course and I liked the complimentary chocolate chip cookies, though they only seemed to be available during a very short and particular time.

Building-wise, it seems the rooms' walls are quite thin. (And/or our LOUD neighbors were quite inconsiderate with the yelling and kids' screaming) We also had to request the toilet plunger twice (after doing nothing out of the ordinary).

It's also a way out of town. I liked that we got a $2 coupon to eat at FATZ, but if we're ever in Anderson again, we'll probably stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Handicap-equipped rooms have bigger bathrooms, with seating in the tub (great for us gals who need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary t, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anderson/Clemson, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank y7our for taking the time to review our hotel, I appreciated the feedback, and i will
do my best to affect the changes neccessary.
Concerning the front desk smilling, that particular staff member is very reserved, and I am working on drawing him out, actually, when interacting with guests, he is quite good,

The communication problem is more an area that I believe we have already addressed,
the staff member you talked to was not neccessarily the person who was assigned to your room,
but she should have communicated your request to the appropriate staff member.

Regarding the cookies, we usually put the out around 7pm, and keep them going until 9pm,
I will look at extending the hours.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Gary Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The staff was extremely warm and helpful from an early accomodation and help with boarding passes. Hotel was quiet,pool and rooms were clean.Kids liked the waffles.We felt good enough about the hotel that we returned for another night a few days later.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse,NY
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We got a king room with a pull-out couch. There was plenty of space. I like the 1/4 wall that separates the bed from the living room area. This place is right in Anderson's "hotel alley" and is surrounded by other chain hotels. Lots of restaurants nearby, too.(But take a short ride into town to the Pompous Pig.) It's very convenient to the highway. The property is clean. The pool was small but nice.Pretty good breakfast, too. I've stayed in other Microtels. This one's better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We arrived late and were greeted by a friendly young night clerk. Our room was exactly as reserved with two beds and on the ground floor. Room had plenty supplies and everything worked. We stayed three nights and found the staff helpful and efficient, especially the lady that cleaned our room. One evening we returned late and the desk clerk told us we missed cookie time but she saved us some cookies. The only slight problem we encountered was that the carpet could have been a little cleaner. They cleaned the hall carpet while we were they but our room carpet needed cleaning too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Hubby and I are on a cross country trip. This establishment was in one of the travel coupon booklets. Upon entering the lobby, I knew we would have a nice stay. We planned on staying only 3 nights. (We ended up checking out after our original 3 night stay and then in the evening changed our plans and checked back in for another night.) Desk clerk was very friendly and courteous. She informed me of all the amenities especially the warm chocolate chip cookies from 5-7 PM.

Our room was was extremely nice considering that it was what they referred to as a standard room. There was a cushioned window seat for leisure reading. The room had more than adequate lighting with light switches actually placed where you could reach them after reading in bed. Over the work desk was a dedicated light that was nice and bright for close work. Bed linens appeared new as they were a bright white, towels were nice and thick. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was spotless on our arrival and everything in working order. We needed to do our laundry and the laundry facility was also very clean.

The breakfast was a little more than the average continental breakfast. Yoghurt, fresh fruit, bagel, pastries, biscuits & gravy were offered in addition to the usual hotel continental breakfast fare.

If this is the kind of service and hotel room you get at all Microtels, I would certainly seek them out for future road trips, coupon or not.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anderson/Clemson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anderson/Clemson

Address: 102 Electric City Blvd, Anderson, SC 29621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Anderson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anderson
#6 Family Hotel in Anderson
#8 Business Hotel in Anderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anderson/Clemson 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anderson/Clemson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Anderson/Clemson
Microtel Inn & Suites Anderson/Clemson Hotel Anderson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anderson/Clemson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.