We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quality of the rooms and service is great. The noise...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3430 Clemson Boulevard, Anderson, SC 29621 (Formerly La Quinta Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Anderson
Marietta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The quality of the rooms and service is great. The noise...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The quality of the rooms and service is great. The noise level from the street was annoying but that's not the fault of the hotel.

Unfortunately, we can't come back here as the pet hotel policy has changed to a two dog limit. We have four small dogs so we will find alternate accommodations for future trips.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
9
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copperhill, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The upgrade was badly needed. Rooms are modern, clean and quiet. There are lots of restaurants and shopping choices. Your on the main drag and that makes it difficult to exit and enter during high traffic. Another quest I know left a Bluetooth charging in her room one morning and after returning it was gone. Hotel staff didn't seem to care. Won't stay again.

Room Tip: Be careful when entering at the stap light. There's a big dip and no left turn signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Heights, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a poor experience at another local hotel, and trying to find somewhere to stay in the middle of the night, I was pleased to tears to find a room at HJ. The woman at the desk was super friendly and helpful getting me checked-in. To make it an even better experience, I was given a room rate less than what I saw online AND I got a discount because my daughter was visiting Anderson University. An awful night turned into a wonderful evening! I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM LLC R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear 32judithb,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. We are extraordinarily pleased to hear that we were able to turn your night around, and that our staff was able to make your stay with us a pleasant one! We pride ourselves on delivering customer service that goes above and beyond, and we are thrilled to hear you received such excellent service!

We hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again the next time you find yourself in the Anderson/Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel was LaQuinta but have upgraded to all rooms now that the name changed to Howard Johnson. They also have a good complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM LLC R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Marcus_Johnson516,

It was a pleasure being able to accommodate you during your recent stay in Anderson, SC. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

We sincerely hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again should you find yourself in the Anderson/Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

While I thought the price was a bit jacked up for a ballgame weekend, compared to the price listings at the same hotel for other weekends, it was a very convenient and nice place to stay. Lots of restaurants nearby and within close proximity of Clemson. The rooms were clean and overall the accommodations were totally satisfactory.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM LLC R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Janet S,

It was a pleasure being able to serve you while you stayed with us here in Anderson, SC!
Our team takes great pride in delivering genuine customer service and it was exciting to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We sincerely hope that you get the opportunity to stay with us again if you're in the Anderson/Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area

Address: 3430 Clemson Boulevard, Anderson, SC 29621 (Formerly La Quinta Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Anderson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Anderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Anderson Hotel Anderson
La Quinta Anderson
Anderson La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Anderson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.