We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masters Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Speakeasy

Speakeasy
126 Laurens St NW, Aiken, SC 29801
(803) 226-0147
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 144 Restaurants in Aiken
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Masters Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Great food & service try the Blue Eyed Boy Shiraz from Aust it is Brilliant.
Dined there twice in the one week good value for money
Cheers, Ken & Warwick

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice but not Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I went there for lunch with my wife specifically for the lobster roll. Being from PEI and growing up in the Northeast U.S., I was skeptical. Now, before you say anything, note that people in Maine do not put ANY mayonnaise on their lobster roll. People in Canada do, along with some celery, and that is the way I like it. In both cases, however, the key point is the quality of the lobster and the roll. Now having said that, the quality of the lobster and the roll was excellent. The roll was not a traditional hotdog roll, but a very tasty roll that I could eat alone or with a hunk of butta. The lobster is served with a remoulade that is pleasing to taste but a bit too much for my palette. Also included (as we do in Canada) were appropriate sized chunks of celery.

My wife have the fried zucchini and cold soup. She thought that the zucchini needed something whereas I thought that it was delicious, not heavy. Also, they served my coke in an 8 oz bottle, which I know is in vogue right now, however, I do not drink coke often and when I do I need at least 16 oz. At $250 a “pop” (pun intended) you can see that it would add up rather quickly.

The lobster roll was only $12, which is a great price. A nice lunch for two came to $33 tax/tip.

Service was fast and quite nice. The atmosphere is fun and relaxing. BTW, they have an impressive selection of scotch that I did not have for lunch, but will another time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best lamb shank I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

There are a lot of good eateries in Aiken, but a recent visit to the Speakeasy with our best friends convinced me that this place is the real deal. Drinks, appetizers, salads and entree's were all top notch, appropriately seasoned, and professionally presented. I have had good lamb shank a number of times before, but this topped the list. It was fall off the bone tender, in the most pleasant red sauce you could imagine. Sometimes these public reviews come from folks looking to find something they don't like no matter where they eat. This guy found a lot to like at the Speakeasy, and we are returning tonight for another round.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I'll pass”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Decor is interesting, the code on the door sounds like a clever idea but since it is written outside what's the point? Lunch food was pretty poor, I had the pear salad and am glad it wasn't expensive! 2 halves of a watery canned pear on top of chopped lettuce and a microscopic sprinkle of "Gorgonzola" cheese with a too sweet vinaigrette. The pork roll sandwich was like thick sliced bologna. The sautéed onion and cheese were tasty though all on an ordinary wheat hamburger bun. The waiter was good until we paid then he never looked at us again even though we sat another 30 minutes with empty water glasses-and no they weren't busy. I always like to see a new place succeed in Aiken as we need more variety so I hope the owner heeds the warnings of these mediocre reviews. I will give it a try for dinner but unless the lunch menu is improved they won't survive long. It's not about portion it's about quality!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth finding the code”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Don't miss this wonderful, quirky place. From entering the secret code to get in the door to the interesting specialty drink menu all the way through the last bite of the plentiful food, this is an experience you will not regret. My blackened salmon was perfectly prepared. My husband's pork chop was fork tender. The wedge salad is worth the extra calories and price. Only complaint was our server did not meet the high standard of the food - not bad just not exceptional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speakeasy also viewed

 

Been to Speakeasy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speakeasy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.