We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Southern Hospitality B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carriage House Inn to your Saves list
Carriage House Inn
139 Laurens Street, Northwest, Aiken, SC 29801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Aiken B&B and Inns
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Southern Hospitality B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Truly excellent Bed and Breakfast Accommodation. Well-appointed comfortable rooms and friendly Southern welcome. I accidentally left a small item behind when I left and it was forwarded to me without delay, accompanied by a friendly note. Thank You.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
28
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Murrayville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Downtown Aiken has a number of places to enjoy an adult beverage and a nice meal. It is beyond foolish (criminal, actually) to drink and drive.
The Carriage House Inn is a great option, offering a nice clean, safe, friendly place to stay (with breakfast) for no more cost than hotels outside of downtown (that are fit for occupancy).
With a casual 2-3 block stroll and you can sample Aiken's happy hour/evening hospitality.
If the typical sounds of a small downtown bother you, just ask for a room in one of the buildings in back-off the main street.

Room Tip: If the sounds of an awakening small town bother you early in the morning, just ask for a room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIAiken_SC, Front Office Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Carriage House Inn. We are happy that you enjoyed our location, in the heart of downtown Aiken, SC. We are currently working on many improvements for our guests in 2014. We are building a back porch off of the dining room that will overlook our courtyard. The Carriage House Inn staff looks forward to your return and sharing all the new improvements we are working on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the Carriage House inn for two days and it was just delightful. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques, and are very roomy. The breakfast is just incredible, and the women who made the terrific meal were friendly and helpful. The Inn is located in the downtown area, and there are many wonderful shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Carriage House Inn is the perfect place for quiet relaxation. The staff are friendly and welcoming in a kind and sincere way. I first stayed alone for two days then two months later with my family. When alone, I stayed in room 16 that was lovely and very clean. The staff effortlessly accommodated my work schedule that I'm sure had me in my room when they otherwise would be cleaning it. The location is perfect for walking to the best shops and restaurants in town. For my second visit we chose a much larger suite behind the main inn that was perfect for our family of four. Again, the staff were wonderful. I'm not sure if it is the contrast from typically staying in business hotels or the southern hospitality, but this Inn is special. I would highly recommend staying at The Carriage House if traveling to Aiken.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Carriage Inn definitely added to our love of Aiken. The staff were warm and friendly, going out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The inn was very inviting and our room was perfect. We stayed in room 23 which had a cute screened porch. We sat there for hours in the evening sipping our wine and enjoying the fresh air. Breakfast was very good each morning, especially the blueberry pound cake. The location of the inn made it perfect for strolling the streets downtown to check out the shops. Our stay was absolutely delightful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tewksbury, ma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at the Carriage House Inn for a week in October while in the area on business. What a great place! The main entrance and dining room was very welcoming. I had a very quiet room in the back of the property. Walking distance to a bunch of restaurants and bars in the downtown area. We was out the door before breakfast was served, but the nice women preparing for the breakfast offered many times to make me something.

I will definitely stay here whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We just spent 2 wonderful days at the Carriage House Inn. The room was lovely, the bed comfortable, the staff was friendly and the breakfasts were so delicious. I wish I had the recipe for the grits!!!! It was very clean and updated. We enjoyed the large jacuzzi and spacious rooms. The location was great. Walk out the front door and you can enjoy a nice stroll downtown to nice shops or to get a cup of coffee across the street. Mostly we enjoyed the quiet the Inn afforded us. We would recommend this Inn to others and will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the Inn are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: 139 Laurens Street, Northwest, Aiken, SC 29801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House Inn invites you to enjoy comfortably elegant accommodations amidst the charm and abundance of Aiken’s many fine dining, cultural and shopping opportunities in historic downtown Aiken, SC. This luxuriously restored historic Inn caters to all - Equine enthusiasts, couple in search of romance, corporate traveler or tourist exploring our charming town. Recently listed on National Geographic Traveler's 2009 Stay List as one of the top 129 Hotels We Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.